You searched for: Office Levy Court Commissioner Remove constraint Office: Levy Court Commissioner Jurisdiction County Remove constraint Jurisdiction: County

Results navigation

Results navigation

Levy Court Commissioner

Levy Court Commissioner: The levy court in Delaware originated during the Dutch period (1655 - 1664) as a body for tax control. Through the history of the First State, the Levy Court took many forms with varying degrees of power and authority. The Levy Court serves the same function as a county council and consists of seven elected commissioners. One commissioner is elected from each of the six Levy Court districts and one commissioner is elected at large. These commissioners represent the governing body of the county and hold weekly business and committee meetings which are open to the public.

definition from The Natural Resources Conservation Service:

1794 - 1824: Delaware

Office Scope: County

Role Scope: County