Council of Appointment

Council of Appointment: A branch of the New York state government from 1777 to 1822. It was charged with appointing all officers of the state that had not otherwise been listed in the New York Constitution of 1777 as being appointed or elected in a specific way. This included the Secretary of State, Comptroller, Attorney General, Surveyor General, justice of the New York Supreme Court, sheriffs, judges, district attorneys, mayors and all military officers. The Council was abolished by the New York Constitution of 1821 and ceased to exist by the end of 1822.
"That all officers, other than those who, by this constitution, are directed to be otherwise appointed, shall be appointed in the manner following, to wit: The assembly shall, once in every year, openly nominate and appoint one of the senators from each great district, which senators shall form a council for the appointment of the said officers, of which the governor for the time being, or the lieutenant-governor, or the president of the senate, when they shall respectively administer the government, shall be president and have a casting voice, but no other vote; and with the advice and consent of the said council, shall appoint all the said officers; and that a majority of the said council be a quorum. And further, the said senators shall not be eligible to the said council for two years successively." Constitution of New York. April 20, 1777. Article XXIII.
Please also see State Senate or Governor's Council.

1799 - 1822: New York

Office Scope: State

Role Scope: State