New York 1808 Assembly, Dutchess County

Assembly (State)
New York 1808 Assembly, Dutchess County
New York
First Ballot
Samuel A. Barker, Jesse Thompson, Ebenezer Haight, Benajah Thompson, George Bloom, Derick A. Brinkerhoff, Philip Ruggles, Lemuel Clift, Peter Cantine, Jr., DeWitt Clinton, Morgan Lewis, Philip Spencer, Robert Williams, Joseph Baldwin, Ambrose Spencer, Braman Barlow, Robert Rider, Philip Schiler, Ezra Thompson, Consider Wood, Aaron Burr, David Pugsley, Albro Akin, Reuben Gorman, James Talmage, Samuel Haight, Adam S. Clift, John Evans, John Golding, John C. Knickerbocker, Jack Koort, Shelden Manger, Thaddeus Monger, Daniel Redding, David Simmons, Benjamin Wosley, Daniel Aldridge, Stephen Benedict, Dairel Cole, John Crane, Joseph Crane, Joseph S. Dean, James Dorrance, James English, Richard Evert, John Foster, Abel Fowler, Benjamin Haight, Joseph Harris, James Holmes, Lewis P. Hoyt, Sebastian Lasher, Samuel Lewis, Michael Louks, John Malkin, John Morgan, Nicholas Myers, Alexander Neely, John Osborn, James Reed, Barnabas Smith, Tobias Spencer, Abraham Vanderhoff, Charles Wills, Martin E. Winchell, Major Wood
Candidates: Samuel A. Barker[1]Jesse Thompson[2]Ebenezer Haight[3]Benajah Thompson[4]George Bloom[5]Derick A. Brinkerhoff[6]Philip RugglesLemuel CliftPeter Cantine, Jr.DeWitt ClintonMorgan LewisPhilip SpencerRobert WilliamsJoseph BaldwinAmbrose SpencerBraman BarlowRobert RiderPhilip SchilerEzra ThompsonConsider WoodAaron BurrDavid PugsleyAlbro AkinReuben GormanJames TalmageSamuel HaightAdam S. CliftJohn EvansJohn GoldingJohn C. KnickerbockerJack KoortShelden MangerThaddeus MongerDaniel ReddingDavid SimmonsBenjamin WosleyDaniel AldridgeStephen BenedictDairel ColeJohn CraneJoseph CraneJoseph S. DeanJames DorranceJames EnglishRichard EvertJohn FosterAbel FowlerBenjamin HaightJoseph HarrisJames HolmesLewis P. HoytSebastian LasherSamuel LewisMichael LouksJohn MalkinJohn MorganNicholas MyersAlexander NeelyJohn OsbornJames ReedBarnabas SmithTobias SpencerAbraham VanderhoffCharles WillsMartin E. WinchellMajor Wood
Final Result: [7][8]14441443137913631246124312109999988777776644432222222222111111111111111111111111111111
Dutchess County14441443137913631246124312109999988777776644432222222222111111111111111111111111111111
Town of Amenia1141181171209791------------------------------------------------------------
Town of Beekman118117116108104105------------------------------------------------------------
Town of Carmel[9]13112222121099999-8--7--6-----222--22------11--------------1---1-1----
Town of Clinton196196192192192185------------------------------------------------------------
Town of Dover10410295939696-------------------------------1---1--1--1---------1--------
Town of Fishkill111110107106105112------------------------------------------------------------
Town of Franklin882211------------------------------------------------------------
Town of Frederick544556------------------------------------------------------------
Town of Northeast13159111111------------------43---2---22-1------1--1-1---------------1-
Town of Pawling515151495151------------------------------------1-------1-1-1--------1--
Town of Philips10999911------------------------------------------------------------
Town of Poughkeepsie454454451449451452------------------------------------------------------------
Town of Rhinebeck[10][11]1581591221193028------------------------2----2--1------1-----1-1------1-1---
Town of Southeast[12]101010101010------------------------------------------------------------
Town of Stanford[13]151420171415-------8-77-77-644-------------------------1------1-1------1
Town of Washington[14]646572716867------------------------------------------------------------


[7]The Union Party designation signifies an Anti-Division ticket composed of 2 Federalists, 2 Clintonians and 2 Lewisites.
[8]Benjamin Haight is an amalgamation of two candidates.
[9]Derick A. Brinkerhoff received 2 votes as Derick Brinkerhoff.
[10]Derick A. Brinkerhoff received 9 votes as Derick Brinkerhoff.
[11]Benajah Thompson received 1 vote as Benjamin Thompson.
[12]Benajah Thompson received 1 vote as Benjamin Thompson.
[13]Derick A. Brinkerhoff received 1 vote as Derick Brinkerhoff.
[14]Derick A. Brinkerhoff received 2 votes as Derick Brinkerhoff and 1 vote as Gerrit E. Brinkerhoff.


Original Election Books. Dutchess County Historian, Poughkeepsie.
Poughkeepsie Journal, and Constitutional Republican (Poughkeepsie, NY). May 11, 1808.
American Citizen (New York, NY). May 16, 1808.
Republican Watch-Tower (New York, NY). May 16, 1808.

Page Images

handwritten notes
Phil's original notebook pages that were used to compile this election. These notes are considered a draft of the electronic version. Therefore, the numbers may not match. To verify numbers you will need to check the original sources cited. Some original source material is available at the American Antiquarian Society).

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.