Massachusetts 1804 State Senate, Hancock, Lincoln and Washington Counties

State Senate (State)
State Senator
Massachusetts 1804 State Senate, Hancock, Lincoln and Washington Counties
First Ballot
State Senate/State Senator
David Cobb, Mark L. Hill, John Farley, William King, Martin Kinsley, Alexander Campbell, George Ulmer
Candidates: David Cobb[1]Mark L. HillJohn FarleyWilliam KingMartin KinsleyAlexander CampbellGeorge Ulmer
Final Result: [2][3][4]207714771185----
District of Hancock, Lincoln and Washington207714771185----
Hancock County-------
Town of Bangor-------
Town of Belfast-------
Town of Blue Hill-------
Town of Buckstown-------
Town of Castine-------
Town of Deer Isle-------
Town of Duck Trap-------
Town of Eden-------
Town of Ellsworth-------
Town of Frankfurt-------
Town of Goldsboro-------
Town of Hampden-------
Town of Isleboro-------
Town of Mount Desert-------
Town of Northport-------
Town of Orland-------
Town of Orrington-------
Town of Penobscot-------
Town of Prospect-------
Town of Sedgwick-------
Town of Sullivan-------
Town of Trenton-------
Town of Vinalhaven-------
Plantation No. 6-------
Lincoln County-------
Town of Ballstown-------
Town of Bath12428-108---
Town of Boothbay-------
Town of Bowdoin-------
Town of Bowdoinham-------
Town of Bristol-------
Town of Camden323344-44--
Town of Cushing1625-24--
Town of Dresden[5]41-314131--
Town of Edgecomb-------
Town of Georgetown-------
District of Great Pond-------
Town of Lewiston3377-29---
Town of Lisbon-------
Town of Litchfield-------
Little River Plantation-------
Town of Medencook-------
Town of New Milford-------
Town of Newcastle2140542518--
Town of Nobleborough38-573857--
Town of Saint George-------
Town of Thomastown-------
Town of Topsham9512-91---
Town of Union-------
Town of Waldoborough-------
Wales Plantation-------
Town of Warren-------
Town of Wiscasset7658705932--
Town of Woolwich-------
Plantation adjacent to Bowdoin-------
Washington County-------
Town of Addison-------
Town of Columbia-------
Town of Eastport-------
Town of Harrington-------
Town of Machias7676--2528-
Town of Steuben-------
Plantation No. 22-------


[2]"No. Voters, 3681. Make a choice, 1841." Governor's Council Records.
[3]Massachusetts law required a majority to elect. Mark L. Hill would subsequently be elected by the Massachusetts General Court.
[4]George Ulmer declined the nomination for Senator.
[5]The New-England Palladium (Boston, MA), April 10, reports 40 votes for David Cobb and 40 votes for William King in Dresden.


Governor's Council Records. Massachusetts State Archives, Boston.
Hodgkin, Douglas I., ed. Records of Lewiston, Maine. Vol. I. Rockport, ME: Picton Press, 2001. 72.
Columbian Centinel and Massachusetts Federalist (Boston, MA). April 7, 1804.
New-England Palladium (Boston, MA). April 10, 1804.
New-England Palladium (Boston, MA). May 15, 1804.
Columbian Centinel and Massachusetts Federalist (Boston, MA). May 19, 1804.
The Independent Chronicle (Boston, MA). June 4, 1804.
Republican Spy (Springfield, MA). June 11, 1804.
Aiken, Ruth J., ed. Records of the Lower St. Georges and Cushing, Maine: 1605-1897. Cushing, Maine: Driftwood Farm, 1987. 22.
Allen, Charles Edwin. History of Dresden, Maine: formerly a part of the old town of Pownalborough from its earliest settlement to the year 1900. Augusta, Maine : Kennebec Journal Print Shop, 1931. 501.
Drisko, George W. Narrative of the Town of Machias. Machias, MA: Press of the Republican, 1904. 296.
Saint George Chronicles: Containing an Historical Sketch from 1605 to 1892. Rockland, ME: Maine Home Journal, 1892. 15.

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.