New York 1812 U.S. House of Representatives, District 12

U.S. House of Representatives (Federal)
U.S. Congressman
New York 1812 U.S. House of Representatives, District 12
New York
First Ballot
U.S. House of Representatives/U.S. Congressman
William Dowse, Arunah Metcalf
Candidates: William DowseArunah Metcalf
Final Result: [1][2]22992075
District of Twelve22992075
Delaware County--
Otsego County[3]22992075
Town of Burlington98162
Town of Butternuts120148
Town of Cherry Valley243124
Town of Decatur[4]5747
Town of Edmeston5489
Town of Exeter6174
Town of Hartwick121176
Town of Laurens14261
Town of Maryland3590
Town of Middlefield23455
Town of Milford13285
Town of New Lisbon82109
Town of Otego4687
Town of Otsego286168
Town of Pittsfield2759
Town of Plainfield11275
Town of Richfield104102
Town of Springfield18954
Town of Unadilla50119
Town of Westford7578
Town of Worcester31113


[1]According to the census figures for 1810, New York was entitled to gain seats in the U.S. House of Representatives. However, the State Legislature made no effort to re-apportion the Congressional districts before the elections scheduled for the spring. Therefore, elections for U.S. House of Representatives were held using the previous district boundaries. The results of these elections were declared null and void. A newly elected State Legislature redrew the districts and set the dates of December 15-17 for new Congressional elections.
[2]Not all counties held elections for U.S. House of Representatives during the spring cycle, since it was known that districts were slated to be redrawn.
[3]The Cooperstown Federalist (Cooperstown, NY) reports 2085 votes for Arunah Metcalf in Otsego County.
[4]The Cooperstown Federalist (Cooperstown, NY) reports 57 votes for Arunah Metcalf in Decatur.


Cooperstown Federalist (Cooperstown, NY). May 9, 1812.
Otsego Herald (Cooperstown, NY). May 9, 1812.
The Columbian. (For the Country) (New York, NY). June 13, 1812.

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.