Massachusetts 1820 U.S. House of Representatives, Berkshire District

U.S. House of Representatives (Federal)
U.S. Congressman
Massachusetts 1820 U.S. House of Representatives, Berkshire District
First Ballot
U.S. House of Representatives/U.S. Congressman
Henry W. Dwight, William P. Walker, scattering
Candidates: Henry W. Dwight[1]William P. Walkerscattering
Final Result: [2][3]14361226132
District of Berkshire14361226132
Berkshire County13901216132
Town of Adams6922
Town of Alford20341
Town of Becket702-
Town of Chesire-8712
Town of Clarksburg[4]---
Town of Dalton3026-
Town of Egremont26532
Town of Florida-6-
Town of Great Barrington111262
Town of Hancock3419-
Town of Hinsdale5514-
Town of Lanesborough701155
Town of Lee16415-
Town of Lenox441193
Town of Mount Washington-15-
District of New Ashford4231
Town of New Marlborough11047-
Town of Otis6027-
Town of Peru4035
Town of Pittsfield9111242
Town of Richmond4152-
Town of Sandisfield5590-
Town of Savoy231-
Town of Sheffield8070-
Town of Stockbridge125445
Town of Tyringham44401
Town of Washington19231
Town of West Stockbridge3953-
Town of Williamstown5082-
Town of Windsor[5]---
Hampshire County4610-
Town of Middlefield4610-


[2]"Berkshire - Whole number of votes 2794 - necessary to a choice 1398." Boston Weekly Messenger (Boston, MA). December 29, 1820.
[3]Based on their votes in Congress over Missouri statehood and a Tariff Bill, some Massachusetts Congressmen either did not run for re-election or were defeated. The Essex Register of November 11, 1820 in commenting on election results noted that Jonathan Russell, a Republican was elected in Worcester South over Benjamin Adams, his Federalist opponent and in Worcester North, Lewis Bigelow, a Federalist defeated both the Republican candidate and Jonas Kendall the incumbent Federalist. They pointed out that both of the defeated candidates (Adams and Kendall) were supporters of the new Tariff Bill, which was viewed as harmful to Massachusetts commerce and business. Two other congressmen, Jonathan Mason (Suffolk District), who resigned shortly before the election and Henry Shaw (Berkshire District), who chose not to run for re-election, did so because of public reaction to their votes on the Missouri question.
[4]There were no votes recorded in Clarksburg.
[5]There were no votes recorded in Windsor.


Original Election Returns. Massachusetts State Archives, Boston.
Pittsfield Sun (Pittsfield, MA). November 8, 1820.
Berkshire Star (Stockbridge, MA). November 9, 1820.
Columbian Centinel. American Federalist (Boston, MA). November 11, 1820.
The Essex Register (Salem, MA). November 11, 1820.
Pittsfield Sun (Pittsfield, MA). November 15, 1820.
Berkshire Star (Stockbridge, MA). November 16, 1820.
Berkshire Star (Stockbridge, MA). November 23, 1820.
Columbian Centinel. American Federalist (Boston, MA). December 23, 1820.
The National Aegis (Worcester, MA). December 27, 1820.
Boston Weekly Messenger (Boston, MA). December 29, 1820.

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.