New Hampshire 1814 Governor's Council, Coos and Grafton Counties

Governor's Council (State)
Governor's Councillor
New Hampshire 1814 Governor's Council, Coos and Grafton Counties
New Hampshire
First Ballot
Governor's Council/Governor's Councillor
Enoch Colby, Abel Merrill, Jonathan Franklin, William Tarlton, Miles Olcott, Benjamin Baker, Samuel Holmes, Samuel Lancaster, Moor Russell
Candidates: Enoch Colby[1]Abel MerrillJonathan FranklinWilliam TarltonMiles OlcottBenjamin BakerSamuel HolmesSamuel LancasterMoor Russell
Final Result: 3436142249841121111
District of Coos and Grafton3436142249841121111
Coos County26626289------
Town of Adams-42-------
Town of Bartlett474-------
Town of Chatham736-------
Town of Colebrook3823-------
Town of Columbia257-------
Town of Dalton20-8------
Town of Jefferson71024------
Town of Lancaster9129-------
Town of Northumberland37-6------
Town of Percy21-12------
Town of Stewartstown[2]735-------
Town of Stratford6--------
Town of Whitefield36-------
Grafton County3170116040941121111
Town of Alexandria6429-------
Town of Bath179457------
Town of Bethlehem3425-------
Town of Bridgewater1141781-----
Town of Campton142318---1--
Town of Canaan15749-------
Town of Concord5999-------
Town of Coventry22-21------
Town of Danbury4813-------
Town of Dorchester[3]6023-------
Town of Ellsworth31--------
Town of Enfield57139-------
Town of Franconia3351-------
Town of Grafton9897-------
Town of Groton61--45-----
Town of Hanover31179-------
Town of Haverhill128701------
Town of Hebron51-151-----
Town of Landaff56502------
Town of Lebanon212115-------
Town of Lincoln-14-------
Town of Littleton[4]120-19------
Town of Lyman92-83------
Town of Lyme271451-2----
Town of New Chester8297-------
Town of New Holderness106-63------
Town of Orange2411-------
Town of Orford16274-------
Town of Peeling1327-------
Town of Piermont7033-68-----
Town of Plymouth113-2117----1
Town of Rumney64--70---1-
Town of Thornton100-44--1---
Town of Warren1712-64-----
Town of Wentworth19--95-----


[2]Abel Merrill received 35 votes as Abil Merrill.
[3]Abel Merrill received 23 votes as Abel Morrall.
[4]"There appears to have been a diversion of sentiment among the Federalist, who had two candidates for Councillor in the field. The regular was Enoch Colby, who in this town received 96 votes to 20 cast for Mills Olcott, of Hanover, the candidate of the bolters." History of Littelton, New Hampshire. 241.


Original Election Returns. New Hampshire Archives and Records Management, Concord.
Concord Gazette (Concord, NH). March 1, 1814.
New-Hampshire Gazette (Portsmouth, NH). March 1, 1814.
Portsmouth Oracle (Portsmouth, NH). March 5, 1814.
New-Hampshire Gazette (Portsmouth, NH). March 7, 1814.
Concord Gazette (Concord, NH). June 7, 1814.
Foster, Herbert Darling, George Mendal Bridgman and Sidney Bradshaw Fay. The Records of the Town of Hanover, New Hampshire, 1761-1818. Hanover, NH: Hanover, 1905. 279.
Hoyt, Peter L. Hoyt's History of Wentworth, New Hampshire, as transcribed from the Original Manuscript by Francis A. Muzzey. Littleton, NH: Courier, 1976. 246.
Jackson, James R. History of Littleton, New Hampshire. Vol. I. Cambridge, MA: University Press, 1905. 241.

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.