Massachusetts 1791 State Senate, Hampshire County

State Senate (State)
State Senator
Massachusetts 1791 State Senate, Hampshire County
First Ballot
State Senate/State Senator
Samuel Lyman, John Hastings, Samuel Fowler, David Sexton, William Lyman, Simeon Strong, Justin Ely, Solomon Strong, Samuel Henshaw, Noah Goodman, David Smead, Samuel Bliss, Hugh MacClellan, William Shepard, John Bliss, Timothy Robinson, William Bodman, Solomon Stoddard, Ebenezer Mattoon, Thomas Dwight, Warham Parks, John Williams, John Hooker, John Long, Samuel Mather, William Pynchon
Candidates: John Hastings[2]Samuel Lyman[1]Samuel Fowler[3]David SextonWilliam LymanSimeon StrongJustin ElySolomon StrongSamuel HenshawNoah GoodmanDavid SmeadSamuel BlissHugh MacClellanWilliam ShepardJohn BlissTimothy RobinsonWilliam BodmanSolomon StoddardEbenezer MattoonThomas DwightWarham ParksJohn WilliamsJohn HookerJohn LongSamuel MatherWilliam Pynchon
Final Result: [4][5]154911961095920740---------------------
Hampshire County154911961095920740---------------------
Town of Amherst--------------------------
Town of Ashfield--------------------------
Town of Belchertown--------------------------
Town of Bernardston343513131612-----7--1---8----1--
Town of Blandford151815-16--2071---318---394----
Town of Brimfield--------------------------
Town of Buckland--------------------------
Town of Charlemont1717--------17---17-----------
Town of Chester--------------------------
Town of Chesterfield--------------------------
Town of Colrain245--45-----45-43-------------
Town of Conway--------------------------
Town of Cummington--------------------------
Town of Deerfield--------------------------
District of Easthampton--------------------------
Town of Goshen--------------------------
Town of Granby--------------------------
Town of Granville--------------------------
Town of Greenfield--------------------------
Town of Greenwich--------------------------
Town of Hadley2316-18---24------------------
Town of Hatfield-40-23-2824-27----23------------
Town of Heath--------------------------
Town of Holland--------------------------
Town of Leverett--------------------------
District of Leyden181717------17--1-------------
Town of Longmeadow3940---51------39-------------
Town of Ludlow33-33-33----33----------------
Town of Middlefield--------------------------
Town of Monson--------------------------
Town of Montague--------------------------
Town of Montgomery--------------------------
Town of New Salem--------------------------
Town of Northfield--------------------------
Town of Northampton106722-176967-67--------17--------
Town of Norwich--------------------------
District of Orange--------------------------
Town of Palmer--------------------------
Town of Pelham--------------------------
District of Plainfield--------------------------
Town of Rowe--------------------------
Town of Shelburne--------------------------
Town of Shutesbury--------------------------
Town of South Brimfield--------------------------
Town of South Hadley49682141219-233----318--5---1-11
Town of Southampton--------------------------
Town of Southwick--------------------------
Town of Springfield5135451011424--2---24----9------
Town of Sunderland--------------------------
Town of Ware2022020------------18---------
Town of Warwick--------------------------
Town of Wendell--------------------------
Town of West Springfield89-50---5857------------------
Town of Westfield--------------------------
Town of Westhampton--------------------------
Town of Whately--------------------------
Town of Wilbraham--------------------------
Town of Williamsburg2727-2727---------------------
Town of Worthington--------------------------


[4]"No. Voters, 2061. Make a choice, 1031." Governor's Council Records.
[5]Massachusetts law required a majority to elect. David Sexton would subsequently be elected by the Massachusetts General Court.


Governor's Council Records. Massachusetts State Archives, Boston.
Bernardston Town Records. 85, 88.
Blandford Town Records. Book Two. 154.
Charlemont Town Records. 129.
Colrain Town Records. Book One. 260.
Leyden Town Records. 47.
Ludlow Town Records.
South Hadley Town Records. 98.
Ware Town Records.
The Hampshire Chronicle (Springfield, MA). April 6, 1791.
The Hampshire Gazette (Northampton, MA). April 6, 1791.
The Hampshire Chronicle (Springfield, MA). April 13, 1791.

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.