Massachusetts 1797 State Senate, Hampshire County

State Senate (State)
State Senator
Massachusetts 1797 State Senate, Hampshire County
First Ballot
State Senate/State Senator
John Hastings, Thomas Dwight, David Sexton, Samuel Fowler, Ebenezeer Hunt, Samuel Henshaw, William Billings, Justin Ely, Hugh MacClellan, John Williams, Charles Phelps, David Snead, Wareham Parks, Joseph Lyman, Solomon Smead, Jedediah Smith, Caleb Alvord, Obediah Dickinson, Daniel Stebbins, Simeon Strong, Levi Shepard, Hugh Maxwell, Zebina Montague
Candidates: John Hastings[1]Thomas Dwight[2]David Sexton[3]Samuel Fowler[4]Ebenezeer HuntSamuel HenshawWilliam BillingsJustin ElyHugh MacClellanJohn WilliamsCharles PhelpsDavid SneadWareham ParksJoseph LymanSolomon SmeadJedediah SmithCaleb AlvordObediah DickinsonDaniel StebbinsSimeon StrongLevi ShepardHugh MaxwellZebina Montague
Final Result: [5][6]218621051877154711331007-----------------
Hampshire County218621051877154711331007-----------------
Town of Amherst8384701681-18--1251------------
Town of Ashfield-----------------------
Town of Belchertown-----------------------
Town of Bernardston82521-29--130--13--12-54-----
Town of Blandford-6022293374-111505-35--6------1
Town of Brimfield-----------------------
Town of Buckland-----------------------
Town of Charlemont21231-201151181-123-------21-
Town of Chester-----------------------
Town of Chesterfield-----------------------
Town of Colrain-----------------------
Town of Conway-----------------------
Town of Cummington-----------------------
Town of Deerfield-----------------------
Town of Eastampton453144-234515--14-------------
Town of Gill-----------------------
Town of Goshen-----------------------
Town of Granby-----------------------
Town of Granville-----------------------
Town of Greenfield-----------------------
Town of Greenwich-----------------------
Town of Hadley59592-135657---48------------
Town of Hatfield-----------------------
Town of Hawley-----------------------
Town of Heath-----------------------
Town of Holland-----------------------
Town of Leverett-----------------------
District of Leyden2020202020------------------
Town of Longmeadow-----------------------
Town of Ludlow-666666-1-6665--------------
Town of Middlefield-----------------------
Town of Monson-----------------------
Town of Montague-----------------------
Town of Montgomery-313113-2222----------------
Town of New Salem-----------------------
Town of Northampton123116-21112115115----------------
Town of Northfield-----------------------
Town of Norwich3436263436-31---------------
District of Orange-----------------------
Town of Palmer-----------------------
Town of Pelham-----------------------
District of Plainfield-----------------------
Town of Rowe-----------------------
Town of Russell-----------------------
Town of Shelburne-----------------------
Town of Shutesbury-----------------------
Town of South Brimfield-----------------------
Town of South Hadley39372829281013----12------33---
Town of Southampton-----------------------
Town of Southwick-----------------------
Town of Springfield-----------------------
Town of Sunderland-----------------------
Town of Ware42-42-42------42-----------
Town of Warwick-----------------------
Town of Wendell-----------------------
Town of West Springfield-----------------------
Town of Westfield5331308566-3057-30--2230---------
Town of Westhampton-----------------------
Town of Whately-----------------------
Town of Wilbraham-----------------------
Town of Williamsburg-----------------------
Town of Worthington-----------------------


[5]"No. Voters, 2895. Make a choice, 1448." Governor's Council Records.
[6]Massachusetts law required a majority to elect. Ebenezer Hunt would subsequently be elected by the Massachusetts General Court.


Governor's Council Records. Massachusetts State Archives, Boston.
Amherst Town Records. 177.
Bernardston Town Records. 160-161.
Blandford Town Records. Book Two. 218.
Charlemont Town Records. 182.
Leyden Town Records. 110.
South Hadley Town Records. 117.
Ware Town Records.
Hampshire Gazette (Northampton, MA). April 5, 1797.
Hampshire Gazette (Northampton, MA). April 12, 1797.
Hampshire Gazette (Northampton, MA). April 19, 1797.
Oracle of the Day (Portsmouth, NH). June 10, 1797.
Oriental Trumpet (Portland, ME). June 14, 1797.

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.