Maine 1823 U.S. House of Representatives, District 1

U.S. House of Representatives (Federal)
U.S. Congressman
Maine 1823 U.S. House of Representatives, District 1
First Ballot
U.S. House of Representatives/U.S. Congressman
Isaac Lane, William Burleigh, Thomas G. Thornton, Edward P. Hayman, Rufus MacIntire, Benjamin Greene, John MacDonald, Joseph Prime, John Spring, James Ayer, Jr., Seth S. Farfield, Israel Lassell, David Legro, Timothy Shaw, George W. Wallingford, William C. Allen, John Bodwell, Samuel Burbanks, Joseph Dane, Joshua Goodwin, Philip Hall 2nd, Paul Hayman, P.G. Hooper, Tucker Kimball, Alexander MacIntire, John U. Parsons, Nathaniel Pillsbury, Phinehas Ricker, Samuel Shapleigh, Jonathan Tucker, Jr., Ezekiel Whitman
Candidates: Isaac LaneWilliam BurleighThomas G. ThorntonEdward P. HaymanRufus MacIntireBenjamin GreeneJohn MacDonaldWilliam C. AllenPhilip Hall 2ndIsrael LassellSeth S. FarfieldEzekiel WhitmanP.G. HooperSamuel ShapleighJohn U. ParsonsDavid LegroJohn SpringTucker KimballJames Ayer, Jr.Samuel BurbanksPaul HaymanJonathan Tucker, Jr.Joseph PrimeTimothy ShawJoshua GoodwinJohn BodwellNathaniel PillsburyGeorge W. WallingfordJoseph DanePhinehas RickerAlexander MacIntire
Final Result: [1]116410804423413132932131542222221111111111111111
District of One116410804423413132932131542222221111111111111111
York County116410804423413132932131542222221111111111111111
Town of Alfred8254-2-3---------1---------------
Town of Berwick46116-3-11-------------1----------
Town of Biddeford26210224-----22----------1-------1
Town of Buxton1391254613-------------------------
Town of Elliot3182--105-------------------1-----
Town of Hollis200188----------------------------
Town of Kennebunk[2]46102619---------------------1-----
Town of Kennebunk Port701154---------------------------
Town of Kittery18-59------------2---------------
Town of Lebanon-136511-66------2------------------
Town of Limerick--143--88------------------------
Town of Lyman710652--12--4-------1-------------
Town of Newfield81230971----2-------1---1---------
Town of Parsonsfield13--229-11------------------------
Town of Saco119-168182------------------------1-
Town of Sanford2586-2811-15-----21----1-----------
Town of Shapleigh10325515-2----------1---------1----
Town of South Berwick2866-20563--------1----------------
Town of Waterborough8920----55-----------1--------1---
Town of Wells36108-----------------------------
Town of York-591-6947------------------1------


[1]Maine law required a majority to elect for the U.S. House of Representatives. A 2nd Trial would be held on June 30, 1823.
[2]The History of Kennebunk lists Isaac Lane with 45 votes.


Original Election Returns. Maine State Library, Augusta.
Maine Gazette (Bath, ME). March 28, 1823.
New Hampshire Republican (Dover, NH). April 9, 1823.
Portland Gazette (Portland, ME). April 15, 1823.
The Eastern Argus (Portland, ME). May 20, 1823.
Portland Gazette (Portland, ME). May 20, 1823.
Maine Gazette (Bath, ME). May 23, 1823.
American Advocate and General Advertiser (Hallowell, ME). May 24, 1823.
Independent Statesman and Maine Republican (Portland, ME). May 24, 1823.
Eastport Sentinel (Eastport, ME). May 31, 1823.
Bangor Register (Bangor, ME). June 5, 1823.
Dubin, Michael J. United States Congressional Elections, 1788-1997: The Official Results of the Elections of the 1st through 105th Congresses. Jefferson, NC: McFarland and Company, 1998.
Remich, Daniel. History of Kennebunk. Portland, ME: Lakeside Press, 1911. 297.

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.