New York 1818 U.S. House of Representatives, District 10

U.S. House of Representatives (Federal)
U.S. Congressman
New York 1818 U.S. House of Representatives, District 10
New York
First Ballot
U.S. House of Representatives/U.S. Congressman
John D. Dickinson, William MacManus, George R. Davis, Richard L. MacDonald, James L. Hogeboom, Thomas Cows, Nathan Dauchy, Derrick Lane, James Mallory, James Reid, Benjamin Smith
Candidates: John D. Dickinson[1]William MacManusGeorge R. DavisRichard L. MacDonaldJames L. HogeboomThomas CowsNathan DauchyDerrick LaneJames MalloryJames ReidBenjamin Smith
Final Result: 22312002322111111
District of Ten22312002322111111
Rensselaer County[2][3]22312002322111111
Town of Berlin[4]152142---------
Town of Brunswick156157---------
Town of Grafton9294---------
Town of Greenbush105157---------
Town of Hoosick189165---------
Town of Lansingburgh10573---------
Town of Nassau19065---------
Town of Petersburgh97147---------
Town of Pittstown100315---------
Town of Sandlake214132---------
Town of Schaghticoke128144---------
Town of Schodack127129---------
Town of Stephentown23678---------
Town of Troy338198---------


[2]William MacManus received 6 votes as William Manus.
[3]John D. Dickinson received 2 votes as John D. Dickerson.
[4]The Northern Budget (Troy, NY) lists John D. Dickinson and William MacManus with 147 votes each.


Troy Post (Troy, NY). May 5, 1818.
The Albany Argus (Albany, NY). May 8, 1818.
Northern Budget (Troy, NY). May 28, 1818.
The Albany Argus (Albany, NY). June 5, 1818.
The New-York Columbian (New York, NY). June 9, 1818.

Page Images

handwritten notes
Phil's original notebook pages that were used to compile this election. These notes are considered a draft of the electronic version. Therefore, the numbers may not match. To verify numbers you will need to check the original sources cited. Some original source material is available at the American Antiquarian Society).

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.