Vermont 1806 U.S. House of Representatives, Southwest District

U.S. House of Representatives (Federal)
U.S. Congressman
Vermont 1806 U.S. House of Representatives, Southwest District
First Ballot
U.S. House of Representatives/U.S. Congressman
James Witherill, Jonas Galusha, Chauncey Langdon, Israel Smith, Ebenezer Harris, Gideon Olin, Nathan Robinson, Abel Spencer, Jacob Galusha, Thomas Hammond, Chauncey Smith, Jonas Clark, Jr., William Henry, Jr., Pere G. Ladd, Lewis R. Morris, Edward Oldin, Ezekiel Porter, Moses Robinson, Jr., Dyar Spellingwell, Asa Standish, Benjamin Swan, Solomon Wright, scattering
Candidates: James Witherill[1]Jonas GalushaChauncey LangdonIsrael SmithEbenezer HarrisGideon OlinNathan RobinsonAbel SpencerJacob GalushaThomas HammondChauncey SmithJonas Clark, Jr.William Henry, Jr.Pere G. LaddLewis R. MorrisEdward OldinEzekiel PorterMoses Robinson, Jr.Dyar SpellingwellAsa StandishBenjamin SwanSolomon Wrightscattering
Final Result: [2]20261101--------------------312
District of Southwest20261101--------------------312
Bennington County-----------------------
Town of Arlington-----------------------
Town of Bennington1721061--14-----1-1--1--1--
Town of Dorset-----------------------
Town of Landgrove-----------------------
Town of Manchester-----------------------
Town of Peru-----------------------
Town of Pownal1211101--1-----------------
Town of Readsboro[3]-----------------------
Town of Rupert-----------------------
Town of Sandgate-----------------------
Town of Shaftsbury63381014---2--------------
Town of Stamford-----------------------
Town of Sunderland-----------------------
Town of Winhall12520--------------------
Town of Woodford-----------------------
Rutland County-----------------------
Town of Benson39116-1------2--1-----1---
Town of Brandon-----------------------
Town of Castleton12777---------------------
Town of Chittenden-----------------------
Town of Clarendon12777---------------------
Town of Danby166---------------------
Town of Fairhaven-----------------------
Town of Hubbarton-----------------------
Town of Ira-----------------------
Town of Middletown88423--------1------1----
Town of Mount Holly-----------------------
Town of Mount Tabor-----------------------
Town of Orwell82343-1-----------------
Town of Parkerstown-----------------------
Town of Pawlett-----------------------
Town of Philadelphia-----------------------
Town of Pittsfield34-21-------------------
Town of Pittsford544251-----2-------------
Town of Poultny-----------------------
Town of Rutland8291182---3-------11------
Town of Sherburne-----------------------
Town of Shrewsbury411---1-----------------
Town of Sudbury-----------------------
Town of Tinmouth1574---------------------
Town of Wallingford-----------------------
Town of Wells-----------------------


[2]The Rutland Herald (Rutland, VT), October 18, reports 2025 total votes for James Witherill.
[3]There were 36 votes cast in Readsboro, but there is no record of which candidates received these votes.


Rutland Herald (Rutland, VT). September 6, 1806.
Middlebury Mercury (Middlebury, VT). October 15, 1806.
Weekly Wanderer (Randolph, VT). October 15, 1806.
Rutland Herald (Rutland, VT). October 18, 1806.
The Post-Boy (Windsor, VT). October 21, 1806.
Vermont Gazette, an Epitome of the World (Bennington, VT). October 21, 1806.
Vermont Centinel (Burlington, VT). October 23, 1806.
The Reporter (Brattleboro, VT). October 25, 1806.
American Citizen (New York, NY). October 27, 1806.
Connecticut Gazette (New London, CT). October 29, 1806.
National Intelligencer and Washington Advertiser (Washington, DC). October 29, 1806.

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.