Georgia 1802 U.S. House of Representatives, Special

U.S. House of Representatives (Federal)
U.S. Congressman
Georgia 1802 U.S. House of Representatives, Special
First Ballot
U.S. House of Representatives/U.S. Congressman
David Meriwether, Samuel Hammond, William Bryant, Francis Willis, William Stith, Thomas P. Carnes, James MacNeil
Candidates: David Meriwether[1]Samuel HammondWilliam BryantFrancis WillisWilliam StithThomas P. CarnesJames MacNeil
Final Result: [2]203918169241985
Bryan County-------
Bulloch County29------
Burke County84---18--
Camden County-------
Chatham County-------
Clark County-------
Columbia County154-----5
Effingham County-------
Elbert County174------
Franklin County-------
Greene County46110-----
Glynn County-------
Hancock County16911--1--
Jackson County26552-----
Jefferson County109------
Liberty County60------
Lincoln County872-----
McIntosh County-------
Montgomery County126--3---
Oglethorpe County1041-----
Richmond County53--20---
Scriven County54------
Tattnall County9----8-
Warren County702691---
Washington County753-----
Wilkes County371------


[2]"On the returns transmitted from the several counties of the votes for a member to represent this state in the House of Representatives of the United States in the place of Benjamin Taliaferro, Esquire resigned - it appearing the return from Bryan was informal in as much as no list of votes was sealed up and forwarded as was also the one from McIntosh for want of certificate of its correctness from the presiding magistrates, both which the law directs and requires - and no return having been received from the counties of Camden, Chatham, Clarke, Effingham, Franklin, and Glynn-it is ordered that an arrangement of the votes which have been received from the other counties in the state be made in the manner following-to wit-" Georgia Executive Minutes, 1802. 465.


Georgia Executive Minutes, 1802. 465.

Page Images

handwritten notes
Phil's original notebook pages that were used to compile this election. These notes are considered a draft of the electronic version. Therefore, the numbers may not match. To verify numbers you will need to check the original sources cited. Some original source material is available at the American Antiquarian Society).

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.