Kentucky 1819 House of Representatives, Scott County

House of Representatives (State)
State Representative
Kentucky 1819 House of Representatives, Scott County
First Ballot
House of Representatives/State Representative
Richard M. Johnson, Alexander Bradford, James Patterson, James Harwood, William Warren, John Guill
Candidates: Richard M. Johnson[1][2]Alexander Bradford[3]James PattersonJames HarwoodWilliam WarrenJohn Guill
Final Result: [4]115466761136927122
Scott County115466761136927122


[2]Though lists as Benjamin Johnson in the Kentucky newspapers, this was Richard M. Johnson, former Congressman and future Vice President.
[4]"The service of Col. Johnson and his famous regiment of mounted riflemen in the war of 1812 is so well known that it seems superfluous to go into particulars here. It is very generally believed that Col. Johnson killed the noted Indian Chief Tecumseh in the battle of the Thames. Col. Johnson continued to serve his constituents in Congress until 1819, when he voluntarily retired and returned home. The people of Scott County at once returned him to the State Legislature, and that body elected him to the United States Senate. After serving out his term, he was almost unanimously re-elected to the same exalted position. In 1836, he was elected Vice President of the United States under Martin Van Buren, and for four years presided over the Senate with great dignity." History of Bourbon, Scott, Harrison and Nicholas Counties. 171-173.


Kentucky Gazette (Lexington, KY). August 6, 1819.
Kentucky Reporter (Lexington, KY). August 11, 1819.
Argus of Western America (Frankfort, KY). August 13, 1819.
Perrin, William Henry, ed. History of Bourbon, Scott, Harrison and Nicholas Counties, Kentucky. Chicago: O. L. Baskin, 1882. 171-173.

Page Images

handwritten notes
Phil's original notebook pages that were used to compile this election. These notes are considered a draft of the electronic version. Therefore, the numbers may not match. To verify numbers you will need to check the original sources cited. Some original source material is available at the American Antiquarian Society).

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.