Massachusetts 1818 State Senate, Hampshire District

State Senate (State)
State Senator
Massachusetts 1818 State Senate, Hampshire District
First Ballot
State Senate/State Senator
Samuel Lathrop, Elihu Hoyt, Jonathan H. Lyman, Jonathan Dwight, Jr., Solomon Smead, George Bliss, Lewis Strong, Jonathan Smith, Seth Wright, Henry Dwight, Joshua Frost, Samuel Porter, Elihu Dwight, Isaac C. Bates, George Grennell, Jr.
Candidates: Samuel Lathrop[1]Elihu Hoyt[2]Jonathan H. Lyman[3]Jonathan Dwight, Jr.Solomon SmeadGeorge BlissLewis StrongJonathan SmithSeth WrightHenry DwightJoshua FrostSamuel PorterElihu DwightIsaac C. BatesGeorge Grennell, Jr.
Final Result: [4][5][6][7]659862515112427320111938---------
District of Hampshire659862515112427320111938---------
Franklin County---------------
Town of Ashfield---------------
Town of Bernardston---------------
Town of Buckland---------------
Town of Charlemont109108109971712-171717-----
Town of Colrain[8]15315315315316--161616-----
Town of Conway---------------
Town of Deerfield---------------
Town of Gill---------------
Town of Greenfield1091091017138373383838----3
Town of Hawley117117110114133-131313---61
Town of Heath---------------
Town of Leverett4949494936--363636-----
Town of Leyden5656565661--616161-----
Town of Montague---------------
Town of New Salem---------------
Town of Northfield---------------
Town of Orange---------------
Town of Rowe---------------
Town of Shelburne---------------
Town of Shutesbury---------------
Town of Sunderland---------------
Town of Warwick---------------
Town of Wendell---------------
Town of Whately---------------
Hampden County---------------
Town of Blandford91911-3919033-3----
Town of Brimfield11111128244878344-4----
Town of Chester---------------
Town of Granville---------------
Town of Holland---------------
Town of Longmeadow120118572-11762--------
Town of Ludlow5353535249--494949-----
Town of Monson1201181183-117---------
Town of Montgomery---------------
Town of Palmer100100555-4194--------
Town of Russell---------------
Town of South Brimfield---------------
Town of Southwick---------------
Town of Springfield[9]20719019065109184-1091091396----
Town of Tolland---------------
Town of West Springfield126126125125-----------
Town of Westfield---------------
Town of Wilbraham1061053270-3263--------
Hampshire County---------------
Town of Amherst---------------
Town of Belchertown24924924724942-1424240-----
Town of Chesterfield---------------
Town of Cummington---------------
Town of Easthampton---------------
Town of Enfield---------------
Town of Goshen---------------
Town of Granby---------------
Town of Greenwich---------------
Town of Hadley---------------
Town of Hatfield---------------
Town of Middlefield---------------
Town of Northampton30831135131048--444222-----
Town of Norwich---------------
Town of Pelham---------------
Town of Plainfield---------------
Town of South Hadley12612236751051101010-10781--
Town of Southampton---------------
Town of Ware83833838-8088---8--
Town of Westhampton---------------
Town of Williamsburg---------------
Town of Worthington---------------


[4]"Whole number of votes, 34570. Necessary to a choice, 4322." Governor's Council Records.
[5]Massachusetts law required a majority to elect. Jonathan Dwight, Jr. would subsequently be elected by the Massachusetts General Court.
[6]The Official Canvass stated that Jonathan Dwight, Jr. was not elected out right as he lost several hundred votes given for him without the Junior attached to his name.
[7]Elihu Dwight is an amalgamation of Elihu Hoyt and Jonathan Dwight, Jr.
[8]Jonathan Dwight, Jr. received 29 votes as Jonathan Dwight and 10 votes as Joshua Dwight.
[9]Jonathan Dwight, Jr. received 1 vote as Jonathan Dwight.


Governor's Council Records. Massachusetts State Archives, Boston.
Belchertown Town Records.
Blandford Town Records. Book Three. 168.
Charlemont Town Records. 353.
Colrain Town Records. Book Two. 148.
Hawley Town Records.
Leverett Town Records.
Leyden Town Records. 129.
Ludlow Town Records.
South Hadley Town Records. 180.
Ware Town Records.
Hampden Federalist (Springfield, MA). April 6, 1818.
Franklin Herald (Greenfield, MA). April 7, 1818.
Hampshire Gazette and Public Advertiser (Northampton, MA). April 8, 1818.
Hampden Federalist (Springfield, MA). April 9, 1818.
Columbian Centinel. American Federalist (Boston, MA). May 9, 1818.
Newburyport Herald (Newburyport, MA). May 12, 1818.
Boston Weekly Messenger (Boston, MA). May 14, 1818.
The Repertory (Boston, MA). May 14, 1818.
New-Bedford Mercury (New Bedford, MA). May 15, 1818.
Columbian Centinel. American Federalist (Boston, MA). May 16, 1818.
Bangor Weekly Register (Bangor, ME). May 21, 1818.

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.