New York 1808 U.S. House of Representatives, District 14

U.S. House of Representatives (Federal)
U.S. Congressman
New York 1808 U.S. House of Representatives, District 14
New York
First Ballot
U.S. House of Representatives/U.S. Congressman
Vincent Matthews, John Harris, Matthew Carpenter, Joseph Glover, Josiah Willoughby, Caleb Barker, Hugh W. Dobbin, James MacCall, George Hornell, John Sayre, Uri Carpenter, Emanuel Coryel, Silas Halsey, Israel Harris, Hemlock Smith, William Smith, Henry A. Townsend
Candidates: Vincent Matthews[1]John HarrisMatthew CarpenterJoseph GloverJosiah WilloughbyCaleb BarkerHugh W. DobbinJames MacCallGeorge HornellJohn SayreUri CarpenterEmanuel CoryelSilas HalseyIsrael HarrisHemlock SmithWilliam SmithHenry A. Townsend
Final Result: [2][3]187711639786499654221111111
District of Fourteen187711639786499654221111111
Cayuga County[4]6926636353259-----1------
Town of Aurelius56102120113-------------
Town of Brutus6106898-------------
Town of Cato32241012-------------
Town of Dryden9438197-------------
Town of Jefferson27853-------------
Town of Locke299-119---------1--
Town of Milton98295038-------------
Town of Owasco19-1875-------------
Town of Scipio3772544555-------------
Town of Sempronius641993-------------
Seneca County[5][6]244416219175--54-1---1-1-
Town of Hector3922262-------------
Town of Junius36118-3-------------
Town of Ovid396684140--33-----1-1-
Town of Romulus75883215-------------
Town of Ulysses4617702--21-1-------
Town of Washington9105713-------------
Steuben County[7]4163447149-----2---11-1
Town of Addison19-3--------------
Town of Bath67-148-------------
Town of Canisteo60---------1------
Town of Dansville33--8-------------
Town of Painted Post88-28---------1----
Town of Pulteney[8]76--46----2-------1
Town of Reading42342--------------
Town of Troupsburgh8-13--------------
Town of Wayne23--47-------------
Tioga County[9]5255077--6--1------1-
Town of Catharinestown-----------------
Town of Chemung-----------------
Town of New-Town-----------------
Town of Owego9924---------------
Town of Spencer-----------------


[2]James McCall, Hugh W. Dobbin, William Smith, George Hornell, Henry A. Townsend, Emanuel Coryell, and Caleb Baker were candidates for Assembly. Silas Halsey was a candidate for State Senate.
[3]"A refreshing little paragraph. -- We have just learnt that VINCENT MATTHEWS, Esq. is elected a member of Congress, which gives us eight Federalists in the next Congress instead of only the two we now have. Tioga and Broome have each elected federal members of Assembly : Steuben and Allegany together 1 democrat by a majority of 13." New-York Evening Post (New York, NY). May 25, 1808.
[4]The returns from the Official Canvass list 671 votes for John Harris and 626 votes for Matthew Carpenter in Cayuga County. These figures were published in several newspapers, including The Albany Register (Albany, NY), June 7.
[5]The Albany Register (Albany, NY), June 7, reports 311 votes for John Harris in Seneca County. Apparently the Official State Wide Canvass did not include the 105 votes for John Harris in Washington.
[6]The Albany Register (Albany, NY), June 7, reports 3 votes for Hugh W. Dobbin in Seneca County.
[7]Joseph Grover received 1 vote as John Grover.
[8]The History of Steuben County lists 45 votes for Joseph Grover in Pulteney.
[9]The only township returns available for Tioga County are from the town of Owego.


Original Election Returns.
Original Election Books. Steuben County Court House, Bath.
Owego Town Records.
New-York Evening Post (New York, NY). May 25, 1808.
New-York Herald (New York, NY). May 28, 1808.
The Albany Register (Albany, NY). June 7, 1808.
Clayton, W. W. History of Steuben County. Philadelphia: Lewis, Peck, and, 1879. 377.
Smith, James H. History of Chenango and Madison Counties New York. Syracuse, NY: D. Mason and, 1880. 389.

Page Images

handwritten notes
Phil's original notebook pages that were used to compile this election. These notes are considered a draft of the electronic version. Therefore, the numbers may not match. To verify numbers you will need to check the original sources cited. Some original source material is available at the American Antiquarian Society).

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.