New York 1818 U.S. House of Representatives, District 17

U.S. House of Representatives (Federal)
U.S. Congressman
New York 1818 U.S. House of Representatives, District 17
New York
First Ballot
U.S. House of Representatives/U.S. Congressman
Aaron Hackley, Jr., Simeon Ford, Westely Willoughby, Jonas Cleland, Nicholas Fosdick, Levi Adams, Solomon Beebe, Thomas Greenly, Thomas H. Hubbard, Dennison Palmer, George Rosecrantz, Gamaliel H. Barstow, Daniel E. Evans, Adam Frink, Philo M. Hackney, William J. Hough, John Marshall, Samuel Payne, George G. Potter, Ellery Shaw, John Smith, Aaron Wilcox
Candidates: Aaron Hackley, Jr.[1]Simeon FordWestely WilloughbyJonas ClelandNicholas FosdickLevi AdamsSolomon BeebeThomas GreenlyThomas H. HubbardDennison PalmerGeorge RosecrantzGamaliel H. BarstowDaniel E. EvansAdam FrinkPhilo M. HackneyWilliam J. HoughJohn MarshallSamuel PayneGeorge G. PotterEllery ShawJohn SmithAaron Wilcox
Final Result: 19342385322222211111111111
District of Seventeen19342385322222211111111111
Herkimer County933158532----2--11-1-11--
Madison County[2][3]10018----2222-11--1-1--11
Town of Brookfield104---------------------
Town of Cazenovia123---------------------
Town of De Ruyter58---------------------
Town of Eaton127---------------------
Town of Georgetown26---------------------
Town of Hamilton76---------------------
Town of Lebanon27---------------------
Town of Lenox92---------------------
Town of Madison55---------------------
Town of Nelson96---------------------
Town of Smithfield83---------------------
Town of Sullivan128---------------------


[2]Aaron Hackley, Jr. received 6 votes as Aaron Hackley.
[3]The Albany Argus (Albany, NY) and The Columbian both list Aaron Hackley, Jr. with 1003 votes but the town totals add up to 1001.


Madison County Gazette (Morrisville, NY). April 9, 1818.
The Pilot (Cazenovia, NY). May 13, 1818.
The Albany Argus (Albany, NY). June 5, 1818.
The New-York Columbian (New York, NY). June 9, 1818.

Page Images

handwritten notes
Phil's original notebook pages that were used to compile this election. These notes are considered a draft of the electronic version. Therefore, the numbers may not match. To verify numbers you will need to check the original sources cited. Some original source material is available at the American Antiquarian Society).

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.