Massachusetts 1788 Electoral College, Worcester District

Electoral College (Federal)
Massachusetts 1788 Electoral College, Worcester District
First Ballot
Electoral College/Elector
Moses Gill, Abel Wilder, John Sprague, Timothy Paine, Artemas Ward, Samuel Baker, Amos Singletary, Jonathan Warner, Martin Kinsley, Peter Penniman, Timothy Fuller, Samuel Willard, John Fessendon, Jonathan Grout, Samuel Curtis, Seth Washburn, Henry Broomfield, John Black, Jeremiah Learned, John Taylor, Levi Lincoln, Daniel Clark, Stephen Maynard, David Wilder, Joseph Allen, Caleb Ammidown, Joseph Dorr, Samuel Crosby, Timothy Newell, Samuel Danky, Andrew Peters, Josiah Whitney, Benjamin Heywood, Ebenezer Lamed, Josiah Whiting, Park Holland, David Bigelow, Seth Newton, Joseph Read, Joseph Story, David Taylor, Joseph Wheeler
Electors: Moses Gill[1]Abel WilderJohn SpragueTimothy PaineArtemas WardSamuel BakerAmos SingletaryJonathan WarnerMartin KinsleyPeter PennimanTimothy FullerSamuel WillardJohn FessendonJonathan GroutSamuel CurtisSeth WashburnHenry BroomfieldJohn BlackJeremiah LearnedJohn TaylorLevi LincolnDaniel ClarkStephen MaynardDavid WilderJoseph AllenCaleb AmmidownJoseph DorrSamuel CrosbyTimothy NewellSamuel DankyAndrew PetersJosiah WhitneyBenjamin HeywoodEbenezer LamedJosiah WhitingPark HollandDavid BigelowSeth NewtonJoseph ReadJoseph StoryDavid TaylorJoseph Wheeler
Presidential Candidate:George Washington / John Adams
Final Result: [2][3][4][5][6]34033528119117616315414413512310491716965554132303025242423201614121210963332111111
District of Worcester34033528119117616315414413512310491716965554132303025242423201614121210963332111111
Worcester County34033528119117616315414413512310491716965554132303025242423201614121210963332111111
Town of Ashburnham-----------10---------------12-10--3---------
Town of Athal-4040---------------------------------------
Town of Barre-111--4211--1---------21------------32------
District of Berlin4-16210-------1-----------1--------------1-
Town of Bolton12-118321--------1--------------------------
Town of Boylston24----25-------1----------------------------
Town of Brookfield47-291-60-------12---3------------------------
Town of Charlton--8191---1--2-13----------------------------
Town of Douglas[7]------------------------------------------
Town of Dudley---278-------19-----------------------------
Town of Fitchburg--8-9-------151-17--------------------------
Town of Gardner-8-------88-------------------------------
Town of Gerry-19-131--------4----------------------------
Town of Grafton--7341-----28---1------24--15----9-----------
Town of Hardwick-31--1--228---1--9--------------------------
Town of Harvard------------6--624---17------------------1--
Town of Holden19---15-12510-1----------------------3--------
Town of Hubbardston------43--143-------------------------------
Town of Lancaster--312---19--------10-------------------------
Town of Leicester20-2319--1-------1----1-----3---------------
Town of Leominster33-1-12---------------1-24-------------------
Town of Lunenberg-12-11--4------23-7-------------------------
Town of Mendon-2-1717---------------------11-9-------------
Town of Milford[8]------------------------------------------
Town of New Braintree--------31---6--4-29------------------------
Town of Northborough-4---11---15---4----------------------------
Town of Northbridge[9]------------------------------------------
Town of Oakham2-18-1----17-----------2--------------------
Town of Oxford-131217-166---1-17--------------3-------------
Town of Paxton[10]------------------------------------------
Town of Petersham-262511----12---------------------------------
Town of Princetown5817-2779--19--19------------------------------
Town of Royalston-16----25------2-10--------------------------
Town of Rutland17-171-1----33--------30----------------------
Town of Shrewsbury-1610-20826-3--263-----------------------------
Town of Southborough--5-4-------1--1----61---------6----11----
Town of Spencer12-9-----3025--------------------------------
Town of Sterling-2584-------4------------17-----------------
Town of Sturbridge36------36----------------------------------
Town of Sutton40-----250-----13----------------------------
Town of Templeton-19---196--82-1-----------------------------
Town of Upton[11]------------------------------------------
Town of Uxbridge---32-----32--------------------------------
Town of Ward-3---1--------265--26-------------------1---
Town of Westborough1-1094----1717-------------------------------
Town of Western-22--19-------------4-----------------------
Town of Westminster[12]------------------------------------------
Town of Winchendon14----1419-----19-----------------------------
Town of Worcester161285212-------116---------3----------------1


[2]Massachusetts had a unique method for choosing its Presidential Electors. In each of the eight Congressional districts, voters voted for two electors. The Massachusetts General Court would then chose one Elector from among the top two candidates in each district to go along with two at-large Electors chosen solely by the General Court.
[3]"The Massachusetts Election Resolutions of 20 November 1788 provided that on 18 December, when the voters cast their votes for Representatives in each district, they should also vote for two men as presidential Electors. The votes were to be sent to the Secretary of the Commonwealth by Monday, 5 January, and on 7 January the legislature in joint session would elect on eof the two men receiving the highest number of votes in each district. The legislature would then elect two Electors from the state at large from among men who had not received votes as Electors in any district. When the votes were returned to the Secretary, it was revealed that more than 220 men had received votes, including virtually every Federalist leader in the state. The Federalist-controlled legilature therefore hurriedly passed a resolution on 6 January declaring that anyone not disqualified by the Constitution 'shall be considered as eligible for an Elector at large, any resolve to the contrary notwithstanding' (see House and Seate Proceedings, 6 January)." DenBoer, Gordon and Lucy Trumbull Brown, ed. The Documentary History of the First Federal Elections: 1788-1790. Vol. II. Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin Press, 1976. 529.
[4]Moses Gill was chosen by the Massachusetts General Court as the Elector for the Essex District.
[5]Elections for Presidential Electors were held on December 18, 1788. The Massachusetts General Court then selected the 10 Electors on January 7, 1789. The Electors voted for President on February 4, 1789.
[6]"The elections in the country have, in general, been very thinly attended - owing in some measure to the late fall of snow, making the passing bad." The Massachusetts Centinel (Boston, MA). December 20, 1788.
[7]There were no votes recorded in Douglas.
[8]There were no votes recorded in Milford.
[9]There were no votes recorded in Northbridge.
[10]There were no votes recorded in Paxton.
[11]There were no votes recorded in Upton.
[12]There were no votes recorded in Westminster.


Original Election Returns. Massachusetts State Archives, Boston.
Oakham Town Records. 151.
Worcester Town Records. 142.
The Massachusetts Centinel (Boston, MA). December 20, 1788.
Jensen, Merrill and Robert A. Becker, ed. The Documentary History of the First Federal Elections: 1788-1790. Vol. I. Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin Press, 1976. 441-511, 529-542.

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.