New Hampshire 1809 Governor's Council, Coos and Grafton Counties

Governor's Council (State)
Governor's Councillor
New Hampshire 1809 Governor's Council, Coos and Grafton Counties
New Hampshire
First Ballot
Governor's Council/Governor's Councillor
Benjamin J. Gilbert, William Tarlton, Silas Meserve, Moody Bedle, Abel Merrill, Moses P. Payson, Abraham Burnam, John Fairfield, Philip Heath, David Hough, John Langdon, Samuel Shepard, Jeremiah Smith, Timothy Taylor
Candidates: Benjamin J. Gilbert[1]William TarltonSilas MeserveMoody BedleAbel MerrillMoses P. PaysonAbraham BurnamJohn FairfieldPhilip HeathDavid HoughJohn LangdonSamuel ShepardJeremiah SmithTimothy Taylor
Final Result: 280014243917131382111111
District of Coos and Grafton280014243917131382111111
Coos County19921338-1------1--
Town of Adams-138-----------
Town of Bartlett[2]667---------1--
Town of Chatham-28------------
Town of Cockburne149------------
Town of Colebrook2320--1---------
Town of Jefferson231------------
Town of Lancaster7311------------
Town of Northumberland303------------
Town of Percy202------------
Town of Stewartstown518------------
Town of Stratford2623------------
Town of Whitefield[3]--------------
Grafton County26011211117121382111-11
Town of Alexandria5116---1--------
Town of Bath15325------------
Town of Bethlehem[4][5]38-----7-------
Town of Bridgewater8075------1-----
Town of Campton11013---2--------
Town of Canaan13943------------
Town of Concord[6]4481--11-------1
Town of Coventry1312------------
Town of Dalton264------------
Town of Danbury28--17----------
Town of Dorchester4229-----1------
Town of Ellsworth18-------------
Town of Enfield5890--------1---
Town of Franconia[7]426--12--------
Town of Grafton8247------------
Town of Groton5229------------
Town of Hanover22643-------1----
Town of Haverhill123321-----------
Town of Hebron3949--1---------
Town of Landaff4248--1---------
Town of Lebanon18155-----1------
Town of Lincoln-12------------
Town of Littleton8322------------
Town of Lyman7545--42--------
Town of Lyme21715---1--------
Town of New Chester5965--4---------
Town of New Holderness9235------------
Town of Orange[8]287------------
Town of Orford14616------------
Town of Peeling1711------------
Town of Piermont4864------------
Town of Plymouth9339------------
Town of Rumney5455------------
Town of Thornton10413---3------1-
Town of Warren1640---1--------
Town of Wentworth[9]2055----1-------


[2]Benjamin J. Gilbert received 6 votes as Benjamin Gilbert.
[3]There were no votes recorded in Whitefield.
[4]Benjamin J. Gilbert received 38 votes as Benjamin Gilbert.
[5]Abraham Burnam received 7 votes as Abram Burnham.
[6]Abel Merrill received 1 vote as Abil Merrill.
[7]Benjamin J. Gilbert received 4 votes as Benjamin Gilbert.
[8]Benjamin J. Gilbert received 28 votes as Benjamin Gilbert.
[9]Benjamin J. Gilbert received 20 votes as Benjamin Gilbert.


Original Election Returns. New Hampshire Archives and Records Management, Concord.
Concord Gazette (Concord, NH). March 7, 1809.
Connecticut Mirror (Hartford, CT). July 10, 1809.
Foster, Herbert Darling, George Mendal Bridgman and Sidney Bradshaw Fay. The Records of the Town of Hanover, New Hampshire, 1761-1818. Hanover, NH: Hanover, 1905. 242.
Hoyt, Peter L. Hoyt's History of Wentworth, New Hampshire, as transcribed from the Original Manuscript by Francis A. Muzzey. Littleton, NH: Courier, 1976. 244.
Thompson, Jeanette R. History of the Town of Stratford, New Hampshire: 1773-1925. Concord, NH: Rumford Press, 1925. 483-503.

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.