Massachusetts 1789 U.S. House of Representatives, District 4, Ballot 2

U.S. House of Representatives (Federal)
U.S. Congressman
Massachusetts 1789 U.S. House of Representatives, District 4, Ballot 2
Second Ballot
U.S. House of Representatives/U.S. Congressman
Samuel Lyman, Theodore Sedgwick, William Whiting, Thompson J. Skinner, William Williams, John Bacon, Noah Goodman, Eldad Lewis, Thomas Lyman, Oliver Phelps
Candidates: Samuel LymanTheodore SedgwickWilliam WhitingThompson J. SkinnerWilliam WilliamsJohn BaconNoah GoodmanEldad LewisThomas LymanOliver Phelps
Final Result: [1][2]718736578248268396111
District of Four718736578248268396111
Berkshire County27288439248139-1--
Town of Adams[3]----------
Town of Alford[4]----------
Town of Becket-15--------
Town of Dalton[5]----------
Town of Egremont--26-------
Town of Great Barrington-3349-------
Town of Hancock[6]----------
Town of Lanesborough-79-48------
Town of Lee2688--2----
Town of Lenox133439------
Town of Louden[7]----------
Town of Mount Washington[8]----------
District of New Ashford-1-16------
Town of New Marlborough[9]----------
Town of Partridgefield--333------
Town of Pittsfield-2731----1--
Town of Richmond2024---9----
Town of Sandisfield3-26-------
Town of Sheffield-3763-------
Town of Stockbridge141--122----
Town of Tyringham-1239-------
Town of Washington[10]----------
Town of West Stockbridge-616--6----
Town of Williamstown-43471------
Town of Windsor---56------
Hampshire County691448139-267-6-11
Town of Amherst15--42-----
Town of Ashfield----22-----
Town of Belchertown3637--------
Town of Bernardston282--------
Town of Blandford--24-------
Town of Brimfield129--------
Town of Buckland[11]----------
Town of Charlemont-3--11-----
Town of Chester[12]----------
Town of Chesterfield[13]----------
Town of Colrain98--13-----
Town of Conway[14]12--20-----
Town of Cummington37--------
Town of Deerfield-18--15-----
District of Easthampton93--6-----
Town of Goshen---15------
Town of Granby30---------
Town of Granville21320-------
Town of Greenfield104--24-----
Town of Greenwich28---------
Town of Hadley315--7-----
Town of Hatfield117--23-----
Town of Heath[15]----------
Town of Holland[16]----------
Town of Leverett-1--20-----
District of Leyden26---------
Town of Longmeadow378--------
Town of Ludlow32---------
Town of Middlefield[17]----------
Town of Monson432--------
Town of Montague-3--2-----
Town of Montgomery161--------
Town of New Salem[18]----------
Town of Northampton-78--18---1-
Town of Northfield-17--------
Town of Norwich318--------
District of Orange38--------
Town of Palmer23---------
Town of Pelham[19]----------
District of Plainfield[20]----------
Town of Rowe10---------
Town of Shelburne338--------
Town of Shutesbury[21]----------
Town of South Brimfield[22]----------
Town of South Hadley242----6--1
Town of Southampton-47--------
Town of Southwick-530-------
Town of Springfield11214--1-----
Town of Sunderland212--------
Town of Ware253--------
Town of Warwick121--------
Town of Wendell[23]----------
Town of West Springfield81331-------
Town of Westfield22334-5-----
Town of Westhampton-22--11-----
Town of Whately[24]----------
Town of Wilbraham264--------
Town of Williamsburg-3--27-----
Town of Worthington-12--------


[1]Massachusetts law required a majority to elect for the U.S. House of Representatives. The original election was held on December 18, 1788. A 3rd Trial was held on March 2, 1789.
[2]"The first election in the district was in part a reflection of the rivalry between Hampshire and Berkshire counties. Berkshire was the less populous county, but four of the six candidates who received the most votes - Theodore Sedgwick, William Whiting, Thompson J. Skinner, and William Williams - were residents of the county. The two Hampshire candidates were Samuel Lyman and John Worthington. The first election did not reflect the fact that the two counties were centers of agrarian discontent and of support for Shays's Rebellion. Nor did it reflect the fact that in the state Convention the Hampshire delegates voted 32 to 19 and the Berkshire delegates voted 16 to 6 against ratification of the Constitution. Only Whiting was regarded as a Shaysite and an Antifederalist, while the other five men were Federalists - and two of these - Worthington and Williams - had been virtual if not actual Loyalists during the Revolution. The issue of amendments to the Constitution was not raised during the first election in the district, but it became so important in the ensuing elections that Theodore Sedgwick, who opposed amendments, publicly promised to support them before the fifth election, which he won." The Documentary History of the First Federal Elections: 1788-1790, Vol. I. p 603.
[3]There were no votes recorded in Adams.
[4]There were no votes recorded in Alford.
[5]There were no votes recorded in Dalton.
[6]There were no votes recorded in Hancock.
[7]There were no votes recorded in Louden.
[8]There were no votes recorded in Mount Washington.
[9]There were no votes recorded in New Marlborough.
[10]There were no votes recorded in Washington.
[11]There were no votes recorded in Buckland.
[12]There were no votes recorded in Chester.
[13]There were no votes recorded in Chesterfield.
[14]The votes from Conway were not included in the Original Election Returns.
[15]There were no votes recorded in Heath.
[16]There were no votes recorded in Holland.
[17]There were no votes recorded in Middlefield.
[18]There were no votes recorded in New Salem.
[19]There were no votes recorded in Pelham.
[20]Plainfield was not listed in the Original Election Returns.
[21]There were no votes recorded in Shutesbury.
[22]There were no votes recorded in South Brimfield.
[23]There were no votes recorded in Wendell.
[24]There were no votes recorded in Whately.


Original Election Returns. Massachusetts State Archives, Boston.
Goshen Town Records.
Williamsburg Town Records.
The Hampshire Chronicle (Springfield, MA). February 4, 1789.
The Hampshire Gazette (Northampton, MA). February 4, 1789.
Jensen, Merrill and Robert A. Becker, ed. The Documentary History of the First Federal Elections: 1788-1790. Vol. I. Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin Press, 1976. 603, 667-675.

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.