New Hampshire 1806 State Senate, District 12

State Senate (State)
State Senator
New Hampshire 1806 State Senate, District 12
New Hampshire
First Ballot
State Senate/State Senator
Moses P. Payson, Peter Carlton, William Tarlton, John Montgomery, Daniel Blaisdell, Stephen Houghton, Thomas Crawford, Samuel Lucas, Joshua Thornton
Candidates: Moses P. PaysonPeter CarltonWilliam TarltonJohn MontgomeryDaniel BlaisdellStephen HoughtonThomas CrawfordSamuel LucasJoshua Thornton
Final Result: [1]828529472542111
District of Twelve828529472542111
Coos County8610875-----
Town of Cockburne-20-------
Town of Colebrook122-5-----
Town of Jefferson-22-------
Town of Lancaster40-6------
Town of Northumberland164-------
Town of Percy21--------
Town of Stewartstown-9-------
Town of Stratford-31-------
Town of Whitefield8-1------
Grafton County742421465-42111
Town of Alexandria[2]---------
Town of Bath6552--1----
Town of Bethlehem-33---2---
Town of Bridgewater42517---1--
Town of Campton66-15------
Town of Concord4907------
Town of Coventry--16------
Town of Danbury205-------
Town of Ellsworth[3]---------
Town of Franconia-28-------
Town of Groton41-25------
Town of Haverhill71157------
Town of Hebron38-28------
Town of Landaff14532------
Town of Lincoln412-------
Town of Littleton37-35------
Town of Lyman[4]32385-----1
Town of New Chester361054-3----
Town of New Holderness53-24------
Town of Orange27--------
Town of Peeling1710-------
Town of Piermont24-70------
Town of Plymouth79-34------
Town of Rumney9-63----1-
Town of Thornton5317-------
Town of Warren102123------


[1]New Hampshire law required a majority to elect. Peter Carlton would subsequently be elected Senator by the legislature.
[2]"Not returned in season." Original Election Returns.
[3]There were no votes recorded in Ellsworth.
[4]The votes from Lyman were not included in the Original Election Returns.


Original Election Returns. New Hampshire Archives and Records Management, Concord.
Hebron Town Records. 224.
Lyman Town Records. Vol. I. 109.
Percy Town Records.
Dartmouth Gazette (Hanover, NH). March 21, 1806.
The Sun. Dover Gazette and County Advertiser (Dover, NH). May 24, 1806.
Political Observatory (Walpole, NH). May 30, 1806.
Thompson, Jeanette R. History of the Town of Stratford, New Hampshire: 1773-1925. Concord, NH: Rumford Press, 1925. 483-503.

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.