North Carolina 1797 State Senate, Perquimans County

State Senate (State)
State Senator
North Carolina 1797 State Senate, Perquimans County
North Carolina
First Ballot
State Senate/State Senator
Joseph Harvey, Frances Newby
Candidates: Joseph HarveyFrances Newby
Final Result: [1][2][3]174172
Perquimans County[4]174172


[1]This election for Senator was contested.
[2]William Greevy, in certifying the election wrote, "while the commons tickets were calling out, there came out one for Joseph Harvey (the word Senator was not wrote on it) and three for Francis Newby, two of which were wrote at large Francis Newby, Senator; some persons said that they would be good; I then put them under the candlestick, untill all the tickets were called out; I then handed them to one of the Superintendants; after a small space of time Major Joseph Harvey called on the Sheriff to give the casting vote, that he would admit it to be a tye; the Sheriff refused to give the casting vote, and said he should make a special return to the Assembly, and state the facts; the Sheriff then made proclamation that no Senator was elected, or words to that effect." Original Election Certificate.
[3]Though the Original Election Certificate shows no Senator as elected, when the next session of the Senate began on November 20, Joseph Harvey was seated as "legally elected to represent" Pequimans County.
[4]Three votes for Frances Newby and one for Joseph Harvey were found in the commons box.


Original Election Certificate. State Archives of North Carolina, Raleigh.
Legislative Papers. State Archives of North Carolina, Raleigh.

Page Images

handwritten notes
Phil's original notebook pages that were used to compile this election. These notes are considered a draft of the electronic version. Therefore, the numbers may not match. To verify numbers you will need to check the original sources cited. Some original source material is available at the American Antiquarian Society).

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.