Massachusetts 1793 U.S. House of Representatives, District 2, Candidate from Hampshire County, Ballot 2

U.S. House of Representatives (Federal)
U.S. Congressman
Massachusetts 1793 U.S. House of Representatives, District 2, Candidate from Hampshire County, Ballot 2
Second Ballot
U.S. House of Representatives/U.S. Congressman
William Lyman, Samuel Lyman, William Shepard, Thomas Dwight, Samuel Henshaw, Simeon Strong, Ebenezer Mattson, John Williams, John Williams, Caleb Strong, Samuel Fowler, Noah Goodman, Ebenezer Hunt, Samuel Mathis, William Scott, Henry Sweetser
Candidates: William LymanSamuel LymanWilliam ShepardThomas DwightSamuel HenshawSimeon StrongEbenezer MattsonJohn WilliamsJohn WilliamsCaleb StrongSamuel FowlerNoah GoodmanEbenezer HuntSamuel MathisWilliam ScottHenry Sweetser
Final Result: [1][2]203616759646818934211363111111
District of Two203616759646818934211363111111
Berkshire County196451151391-1-10---1--1-
Town of Adams4--85------------
Town of Alford---15------------
Town of Becket--169------------
District of Bethlehem-13--------------
Town of Dalton141--------------
Town of Egremont-9-7------------
Town of Great Barrington--625------------
Town of Hancock22---------------
Town of Lanesborough1148-38-------1--1-
Town of Lee-17--------------
Town of Lenox239112------------
Town of Louden-3213------------
Town of Mount Washington[3]----------------
District of New Ashford24---------------
Town of New Marlborough-1440------------
Town of Partridgefield-30-5------------
Town of Pittsfield471920---4--------
Town of Richmond-30-5------------
Town of Sandisfield67-23------------
Town of Sheffield11-2818------------
Town of Stockbridge-2-57---6--------
Town of Tyringham-2321-1----------
Town of Washington--27-------------
Town of West Stockbridge-57--------------
Town of Williamstown22191543------------
Town of Windsor33-1-------------
Hampshire County1558178704206-3320-631-11-1
Town of Amherst62-17-------------
Town of Ashfield451--------------
Town of Belchertown19217--------1---
Town of Bernardston23-------13------
Town of Blandford10-25-------------
Town of Brimfield-3-45------------
Town of Buckland12-16-------------
Town of Charlemont1331-------------
Town of Chester443811------------
Town of Chesterfield6713-------------
Town of Colrain12-2-------------
Town of Conway52---------------
Town of Cummington--21-------------
Town of Deerfield4-221----5-------
District of Easthampton2513--1----------
Town of Goshen38-5-------------
Town of Granby231-9-4----------
Town of Granville10-25-------------
Town of Greenfield91---------------
Town of Greenwich41---------------
Town of Hadley13-274------------
Town of Hatfield24-1413------------
Town of Hawley--37-------------
Town of Heath--16-------------
Town of Holland-28--------------
Town of Leverett-44--------------
District of Leyden23---------------
Town of Longmeadow-223018------------
Town of Ludlow43---------------
Town of Middlefield35-5-------------
Town of Monson2217---20---------
Town of Montague2916-------------
Town of Montgomery--23-------------
Town of New Salem37-3-------------
Town of Northampton843423------------
Town of Northfield34---------------
Town of Norwich32-15-------------
District of Orange-17--------------
Town of Palmer18---------------
Town of Pelham33---------------
District of Plainfield21---------------
Town of Rowe--21--1----------
Town of Russell1413-------------
Town of Shelburne44---------------
Town of Shutesbury30---------------
Town of South Brimfield-----26----------
Town of South Hadley404--------------
Town of Southampton21-30-------------
Town of Southwick2618-------1-----
Town of Springfield621548------------
Town of Sunderland9-15-------------
Town of Ware-24--------------
Town of Warwick38---------------
Town of Wendell--37------------1
Town of West Springfield169-72-----1------
Town of Westfield382140----------1--
Town of Westhampton23-93------------
Town of Whately19-6-------------
Town of Wilbraham184112-1----------
Town of Williamsburg45-10-------------
Town of Worthington10-810------------
Worcester County28210461098489-13--------
Town of Ashburnham24---------------
Town of Athal-28--------------
Town of Barre2517--------------
District of Berlin-20--------------
Town of Bolton-18--------------
Town of Boylston1226--------------
Town of Brookfield-44582------------
Town of Charlton428--------------
Town of Douglas-31--------------
Town of Dudley-47--------------
Town of Fitchburg23---------------
Town of Gardner57--------------
Town of Gerry-225-------------
Town of Grafton223--------------
Town of Hardwick-57-2------------
Town of Harvard-23--------------
Town of Holden1810--------------
Town of Hubbardston-15--------------
Town of Lancaster3815--3-----------
Town of Leicester1363-------------
Town of Leominster2161-1-----------
Town of Lunenberg----41-----------
Town of Mendon-36--------------
Town of Milford-34--------------
Town of New Braintree336--------------
Town of Northborough1613-------------
Town of Northbridge-38--------------
Town of Oakham145--------------
Town of Oxford-16--------------
Town of Paxton-26----1---------
Town of Petersham583-------------
Town of Princetown-740-------------
Town of Royalston-253-------------
Town of Rutland1120--------------
Town of Shrewsbury1141----3--------
Town of Southborough136--------------
Town of Spencer1272-------------
Town of Sterling----44-----------
Town of Sturbridge-451-------------
Town of Sutton1243--------------
Town of Templeton1714--------------
Town of Upton12---------------
Town of Uxbridge-26--------------
Town of Ward-17--------------
Town of Westborough1912--------------
Town of Western5431-------------
Town of Westminster-33--------------
Town of Winchendon8161-------------
Town of Worcester829--------------


[1]"The Massachusetts law provided for a complex method of voting. The voters of Districts One and Two each could vote for four candidates, but the votes had to be distributed as follows: one vote for a candidate from each of the three counties in the district and one additional vote for any candidate from any part of the district. In the Third District each voter had two votes; one had to be cast for a candidate from Barnstable, Dukes and Nantucket counties and the other for a candidate from Bristol and Plymouth. In addition all voters in the above three districts cast one additional vote for any candidate from anywhere in the three districts, listed in the returns as at-large. Voters of the Fourth District had three votes, one for a candidate from York, another from Cumberland and the other from any of the remaining counties of this district." Dubin, Michael J. United States Congressional Elections, 1788-1997: The Official Results of the Elections of the 1st through 105th Congresses. Jefferson, NC: McFarland and Company, 1998. 9.
[2]Massachusetts law required a majority to elect for the U.S. House of Representatives. The original election was held on November 2, 1792. A 3rd Trial would be held on April 1, 1793.
[3]There were no votes recorded in Mount Washington.


Original Election Returns. Massachusetts State Archives, Boston.
Hardwick Town Records. 164.
The Eastern Herald (Portland, ME). February 28, 1793.
Dubin, Michael J. United States Congressional Elections, 1788-1997: The Official Results of the Elections of the 1st through 105th Congresses. Jefferson, NC: McFarland and Company, 1998. 9.

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.