New York 1800 Assembly, Dutchess County

Assembly (State)
New York 1800 Assembly, Dutchess County
New York
First Ballot
Smith Thompson, Ebenezer Mott, Abraham Adriance, Benjamin Aiken, Nicholas H. Emigh, John H. Thurston, Zalman Sanford, Elisha Barlow, Isaac Sherwood, Robert Johnston, Jesse Oakley, Jesse Thompson, William Pearce, John Crane, Isaac Van Wyck, Jacob Bockee, Samuel Towner, John DeWitt, William Emott, Henry Lyle, Zachariah Mosher, William Barker, John Van Wyck, Nicholas Armi, David Brooks, Jacob Ford, Solomon Ford, Gideon Hall, Peter Husted, Richard Jackson, Ephraim Marvin, Samuel Moore, Samuel Mott, Smith Sanford, Solomon Sanford, Elisha Sherwood, William Tabor, Joseph Thorn
Candidates: Smith ThompsonEbenezer MottAbraham AdrianceBenjamin AikenNicholas H. EmighJohn H. ThurstonZalman SanfordElisha BarlowIsaac SherwoodRobert JohnstonJesse OakleyJesse ThompsonWilliam PearceJohn CraneIsaac Van WyckJacob BockeeSamuel TownerJohn DeWittWilliam EmottHenry LyleZachariah MosherWilliam BarkerJohn Van WyckNicholas ArmiDavid BrooksJacob FordSolomon FordGideon HallPeter HustedRichard JacksonEphraim MarvinSamuel MooreSamuel MottSmith SanfordSolomon SanfordElisha SherwoodWilliam TaborJoseph Thorn
Final Result: [1]20602059204220372026202520212008200719981242120811951190118911811171115611501150722111111111111111
Dutchess County20082059204220372026202520212008200719981242120811951190118911811171115611501150722111111111111111
Town of Amenia[2][3]11611810811210910810411911110652515352514955504751-2----------------
Town of Beekman71837776866566696964112979992959499739574-------1-1-------1
Town of Carmel14114013913913913814513913914224222424201924222019------------------
Town of Clinton196200195192184202184188187186139137130124127132128142124126---1--1-----------
Town of Fishkill32632733032332332632132231832693928588959291939288------------------
Town of Franklin[4]4143413740384541384063636161566256616163----1---------1---
Town of Fredericks7776777574737767737092104322232------------------
Town of Northeast[5][6]18419018818819019018719019419054535253525452525052-----1--1----1----
Town of Pawlings113939211810410390929290162159169163158145149146159139------------------
Town of Phillips[7][8]11010510810410210110510310211018202020212019122120--1---------------
Town of Poughkeepsie170164160150161160151162162158174173173172172172170170172169------------------
Town of Rhinebeck191192194192193197193188193193221222217222222222220221222219------------------
Town of Southeast[9]1021031051021001011259910410566634663636357605656----------1----1--
Town of Stanford116117122121120119121122123116252325242425202324197-1---------1---1-
Town of Washington[10][11]10610810610810110410310710210230313128303129292829-----------1------


[1]Smith Sanford and Elisha Sherwood are amalgamations of other candidates.
[2]Nicholas H. Emigh received 1 vote as Nicholas Emigh.
[3]John Crane received 1 vote as John Crane, Jr.
[4]John Crane received 1 vote as James Crane.
[5]Nicholas H. Emigh received 1 vote as Nicholas Emigh and 1 vote as Nicholas W. Emigh.
[6]John M. Thurston received 1 vote as John Thurstone.
[7]Jesse Oakley received 1 vote as Jeral Oakley.
[8]Jesse Thompson received 1 vote as Joshua Thompson.
[9]John M. Thurston received 1 vote as John Thurston.
[10]Nicholas H. Emigh received 1 vote as Nicholas Emigh.
[11]John M. Thurston received 1 vote as Robert M. Thurston.


Original Election Books. Dutchess County Historian, Poughkeepsie.
The Poughkeepsie Journal (Poughkeepsie, NY). May 13, 1800.
American Citizen and General Advertiser (New York, NY). May 16, 1800.

Page Images

handwritten notes
Phil's original notebook pages that were used to compile this election. These notes are considered a draft of the electronic version. Therefore, the numbers may not match. To verify numbers you will need to check the original sources cited. Some original source material is available at the American Antiquarian Society).

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.