New York 1824 U.S. House of Representatives, District 15

U.S. House of Representatives (Federal)
U.S. Congressman
New York 1824 U.S. House of Representatives, District 15
New York
First Ballot
U.S. House of Representatives/U.S. Congressman
Michael Hoffman, John Herkimer, Simeon Ford, Truman Enos
Candidates: Michael Hoffman[1]John HerkimerSimeon FordTruman Enos
Final Result: [2][3]2410216421
District of Fifteen2410216421
Herkimer County2410216421
Town of Columbia91162--
Town of Danube221249--
Town of Fairfield192169--
Town of Frankfort138154--
Town of German Flats152239--
Town of Herkimer202286--
Town of Litcfield14575--
Town of Manheim91152--
Town of Newport125134--
Town of Norway82100--
Town of Russia167119--
Town of Salisbury131112--
Town of Schuyler157108--
Town of Warren113234--
Town of West Brunswick2754--
Town of Winfield13063--


[2]"On the 16th instant, a meeting was held at the house of B. Kelsey in Herkimer, composed of abut twenty discontented Republican, and the like number of Federalist and Clintonians; which nominated Mr. John Herkimer for Congress, and Messrs. Jacob Wire, Warner Folts and Samuel Dexter Jr. for Assembly; and concurred in the nomination of George Brayton, a Clintonian of Oneida County for Senator; thus ended this affair." The People's Friend (Little Falls NY). October 27, 1824.
[3]Truman Enos was a candidate for State Senate.


People's Friend (Little Falls, NY). October 27, 1824.
People's Friend (Little Falls, NY). November 17, 1824.
National Advocate (New York, NY). November 18, 1824.
The Albany Argus (Albany, NY). December 14, 1824.

Page Images

handwritten notes
Phil's original notebook pages that were used to compile this election. These notes are considered a draft of the electronic version. Therefore, the numbers may not match. To verify numbers you will need to check the original sources cited. Some original source material is available at the American Antiquarian Society).

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.