New Hampshire 1811 Governor's Council, Coos and Grafton Counties

Governor's Council (State)
Governor's Councillor
New Hampshire 1811 Governor's Council, Coos and Grafton Counties
New Hampshire
First Ballot
Governor's Council/Governor's Councillor
Jonathan Franklin, Edward Evans, Silas Merrive, Jeduthun Wilcox, Moor Russell, T. Page, A. Merrill, L. Meserve, C. Ellis, Edward L. Hall, John Harris, John French, C. Hamilton, A. Hutchinson, John Langdon, W. W. Sargent, Jeremiah Smith, William Webster
Candidates: Jonathan Franklin[1]Edward EvansSilas MerriveJeduthun WilcoxMoor RussellT. PageA. MerrillL. MeserveC. EllisEdward L. HallJohn HarrisJohn FrenchC. HamiltonA. HutchinsonJohn LangdonW. W. SargentJeremiah SmithWilliam Webster
Final Result: [2][3]2404182896302519552221111111
District of Coos and Grafton24041828-962519552221111111
Coos County16015296-22----2--------
Town of Adams--41---------------
Town of Bartlett--55------2--------
Town of Chatham-21----------------
Town of Colebrook2219----------------
Town of Columbia148----------------
Town of Dalton28-----------------
Town of Jefferson6-----------------
Town of Lancaster6621--1-------------
Town of Northumberland194----------------
Town of Percy-24--10-------------
Town of Stewartstown522----------------
Town of Stratford[4]-21--11-------------
Town of Whitefield-12----------------
Grafton County[5]22441676-30319552-21111111
Town of Alexandria4524----------------
Town of Bath12646---------------1
Town of Bethlehem3821-----3----------
Town of Bridgewater5995----2-----------
Town of Campton10019----------------
Town of Canaan11639----------------
Town of Concord20100----------------
Town of Coventry-13----------------
Town of Danbury3212----------------
Town of Dorchester4437--------1-------
Town of Ellsworth21-----------------
Town of Enfield48114-----2----------
Town of Franconia1835----------------
Town of Grafton7091----------------
Town of Groton4638----------------
Town of Hanover[6]245481-----2-1-1-----
Town of Haverhill10552--1---------1---
Town of Hebron3156----------------
Town of Landaff[7]3647----1----1------
Town of Lebanon16670-----------1----
Town of Lincoln-12----------------
Town of Littleton5733----------------
Town of Lyman7071--2-2-----------
Town of Lyme1194329---------------
Town of New Chester6581-------------1--
Town of New Holderness8655----------------
Town of Orange248----------------
Town of Orford12093----------------
Town of Peeling[8]15----19------------
Town of Piermont5269----------------
Town of Plymouth10048----------------
Town of Rumney4859----------------
Town of Thornton10112----------------
Town of Warren1055--------------1-
Town of Wentworth1180----------------


[2]"The following is the result of the votes for Councillors, as reported by the committee appointed to sort and count the same. .... Graft and Coos. - Whole number, 4274 - that 2138 are necessary to make a choice and the Hon. Jonathan Franklin, having 2353, is chosen." Concord Gazette (Concord, NH). June 18, 1811.
[3]The New-Hampshire Patriot (Concord, NH) lists Jonathan Franklin having 2553 votes.
[4]The votes from Stratford were rejected.
[5]Moor Russell received 3 votes as M. Russell.
[6]Jeduthun Wilcox received 1 vote as J. Wilcox.
[7]The votes from Landaff were rejected.
[8]The votes from Peeling were rejected.


Original Election Returns. New Hampshire Archives and Records Management, Concord.
Concord Gazette (Concord, NH). February 26, 1811.
Portsmouth Oracle (Portsmouth, NH). March 2, 1811.
Concord Gazette (Concord, NH). June 18, 1811.
New-Hampshire Patriot (Concord, NH). June 18, 1811.
Foster, Herbert Darling, George Mendal Bridgman and Sidney Bradshaw Fay. The Records of the Town of Hanover, New Hampshire, 1761-1818. Hanover, NH: Hanover, 1905. 258.
Hoyt, Peter L. Hoyt's History of Wentworth, New Hampshire, as transcribed from the Original Manuscript by Francis A. Muzzey. Littleton, NH: Courier, 1976. 245.

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.