Massachusetts 1802 State Senate, Hampshire County

State Senate (State)
State Senator
Massachusetts 1802 State Senate, Hampshire County
First Ballot
State Senate/State Senator
Thomas Dwight, Samuel Fowler, Hugh MacClellan, Ebenezer Hunt, John Hastings, Solomon Smead, William Lyman, Edward Upham, Obadiah Dickinson, Jonathan Smith, Jr., Ezra Starkweather, Edmond Longley, Daniel Wright, Gideon Burt, Ruggles Woodbridge, John Hooker, Zebina Montague, John Williams, Justin Ely, Jedediah Smith, James Byers, Asa Fuller, Phineas Stebbins, Henry Dwight
Candidates: Thomas Dwight[1]Samuel Fowler[2]Hugh MacClellan[3]Ebenezer Hunt[4]John Hastings[5]Solomon SmeadWilliam LymanEdward UphamObadiah DickinsonJonathan Smith, Jr.Ezra StarkweatherEdmond LongleyDaniel WrightGideon BurtRuggles WoodbridgeJohn HookerZebina MontagueJohn WilliamsJustin ElyJedediah SmithJames ByersAsa FullerPhineas StebbinsHenry Dwight
Final Result: [6][7]47614596457640233962-------------------
Hampshire County47614596457640233962-------------------
Town of Amherst------------------------
Town of Ashfield------------------------
Town of Belchertown------------------------
Town of Bernardston458345454341----83124182---------
Town of Blandford6840707070-----1-123--2953111-
Town of Brimfield------------------------
Town of Buckland------------------------
Town of Charlemont8484843803----181------------
Town of Chester------------------------
Town of Chesterfield------------------------
Town of Colrain------------------------
Town of Conway------------------------
Town of Cummington------------------------
Town of Deerfield------------------------
District of Easthampton------------------------
Town of Gill------------------------
Town of Goshen------------------------
Town of Granby------------------------
Town of Granville------------------------
Town of Greenfield115137117113------134-------------
Town of Greenwich------------------------
Town of Hadley------------------------
Town of Hatfield------------------------
Town of Hawley------------------------
Town of Heath------------------------
Town of Holland------------------------
Town of Leverett------------------------
District of Leyden3132131325351484847311111---------
Town of Longmeadow------------------------
Town of Ludlow------------------------
Town of Middlefield------------------------
Town of Monson------------------------
Town of Montague------------------------
Town of Montgomery------------------------
Town of New Salem------------------------
Town of Northampton348371372344355-----30-------------
Town of Northfield------------------------
Town of Norwich------------------------
District of Orange------------------------
Town of Palmer------------------------
Town of Pelham------------------------
District of Plainfield------------------------
Town of Rowe------------------------
Town of Russell------------------------
Town of Shelburne------------------------
Town of Shutesbury------------------------
Town of South Brimfield------------------------
Town of South Hadley778057476229---3--6649-27------2
Town of Southampton------------------------
Town of Southwick------------------------
Town of Springfield203205160150203-------------------
Town of Sunderland------------------------
Town of Ware1147471947----------3628-------
Town of Warwick------------------------
Town of Wendell------------------------
Town of West Springfield------------------------
Town of Westfield------------------------
Town of Westhampton------------------------
Town of Whately------------------------
Town of Wilbraham------------------------
Town of Williamsburg------------------------
Town of Worthington------------------------


[6]"No. Voters, 5627. Make a choice, 2814." Governor's Council Records.
[7]Massachusetts law required a majority to elect. Timothy Bigelow and Eleazer Brooks would subsequently be elected by the Massachusetts General Court.


Governor's Council Records. Massachusetts State Archives, Boston.
Bernardston Town Records. 211.
Blandford Town Records. Book Two. 264.
Charlemont Town Records. 234.
Leyden Town Records. 137.
South Hadley Town Records. 132.
Ware Town Records.
Hampshire Gazette (Northampton, MA). April 7, 1802.
Greenfield Gazette (Greenfield, MA). A Register of Genuine Federalism (Greenfield, MA). April 12, 1802.
Federal Spy (Springfield, MA). April 13, 1802.

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.