New York 1824 U.S. House of Representatives, District 20

U.S. House of Representatives (Federal)
U.S. Congressman
New York 1824 U.S. House of Representatives, District 20
New York
First Ballot
U.S. House of Representatives/U.S. Congressman
Nicoll Fosdick, Daniel Hugunin, Jr., Egbert Ten Eyck, Horace Allen, George White, DeWitt Clinton, John B. Esselstyn, Richard Goodell, Titus Ives, John Macomber, George Brayton, Samuel Young, George Andrus, Erastus Root, Truman Enos, James Tallmadge, Chester Hayden, Artemas Leonard, William D. Ford, Jacob A. Vanden Heuvell, E. Wood, Jason Fenton, J. Place, Elisha Camp, George Andruss, John Crary, George W. Ford, Nathaniel Picher, Worden Griffin
Candidates: Nicoll Fosdick[1]Daniel Hugunin, Jr.Egbert Ten Eyck[2]Horace AllenGeorge WhiteDeWitt ClintonJohn B. EsselstynRichard GoodellTitus IvesJohn MacomberGeorge BraytonSamuel YoungGeorge AndrusErastus RootTruman EnosJames TallmadgeChester HaydenArtemas LeonardWilliam D. FordJacob A. Vanden HeuvellE. WoodJason FentonJ. PlaceElisha CampGeorge AndrussJohn CraryGeorge W. FordNathaniel PicherWorden Griffin
Final Result: [3][4]56775665548854737766666554473322222111111
District of Twenty56775665548654737766666554473322222111111
Jefferson County[5][6][7][8][9]2662264426502645636666315113--2----1-----
Town of Adams204198176176-------------------------
Town of Alexandria4140147147-------------------------
Town of Antwerp172171184183-------------------------
Town of Brownville180179171171-------------------------
Town of Champion176176128128-------------------------
Town of Ellisburgh287287231231-------------------------
Town of Henderson111111134134-------------------------
Town of Hounsfield3123077371-------------------------
Town of LeRay112112176176-------------------------
Town of Lorraine1151154040-------------------------
Town of Lyme10199103105-------------------------
Town of Orleans170169263262-------------------------
Town of Parmelia7271134133-------------------------
Town of Philadelphia40404242-------------------------
Town of Rodman8786158158-------------------------
Town of Rutland108108192194-------------------------
Town of Watertown274271260256-------------------------
Town of Wilna1001003838-------------------------
Lewis County[10][11]44444468167611----1----1--------1----
Oswego County[12][13][14]9661002942931-2----23-23233-----------
Town of Constantia46467474-------------------------
Town of Granby64652726-------------------------
Town of Hannibal67678585-------------------------
Town of Mexico1871876261-------------------------
Town of New Haven68677373-------------------------
Town of Oswego92994444-------------------------
Town of Orwell22226464-------------------------
Town of Richland220219238236-------------------------
Town of Redfield563534-------------------------
Town of Scriba16387065-------------------------
Town of Volney138140107106-------------------------
Town of Williamstown40406363-------------------------
Saint Lawrence County[15][16]1605157512151221-1-----1-1-1---2222--1111
Town of Louisville48484040----------------2-2------
Town of Madrid9393139137-----------------2-------


[3]This was a contested election and based on evidence, the Committee of Election in the House of representatives eventually awarded the Congressional seat to Daniel Hugunin, Jr.
[4]Truman Enos was a candidate for State Senate.
[5]Daniel Hugunins Jr. received 275 votes as Daniel Hugunin.
[6]Egbert Ten Eyck received 2 votes as Egbert Ten Eyce.
[7]Horace Allen received 1 vote as Hourace Allen.
[8]James Tallmadge received 3 votes as James Tallmage.
[9]The vote totals as reported by the Palladium November 20, 1824 in Jefferson County differ from other sources: Hugunin 2644, Ten Eyck 2648, Allen 2644.
[10]Daniel Hugunins Jr. received 35 votes as Daniel Hugunin and 1 vote as Daniel Huguning, Jr.
[11]Egbert Ten Eyck received 2 votes as Egber Ten Eyck.
[12]Daniel Hugunins Jr. received 5 votes as Daniel Hugunin and 1 vote as D. D. Hugunin.
[13]Egbert Ten Eyck received 1 vote as Robert Ten Eyck.
[14]Nicol Fosdic received 1 vote as Nicholas Fosdick.
[15]Daniel Hugunins Jr. received 142 votes as Daniel Hugunin.
[16]The vote totals as reported by the Palladium November 20, 1824 for Saint Lawrence County, differ from other sources: Fosdick 1604, Hugunin 1554.


Manuscript Depositions relating to the contested election of Daniel Hugunin, Jr. and Egbert Ten Eyck. The National Archives, Washington, DC.
Oswego Palladium (Oswego, NY). November 13, 1824.
Oswego Palladium (Oswego, NY). November 20, 1824.
Madison Observer (Morrisville, NY). November 24, 1824.
The Albany Argus (Albany, NY). December 14, 1824.

Page Images

handwritten notes
Phil's original notebook pages that were used to compile this election. These notes are considered a draft of the electronic version. Therefore, the numbers may not match. To verify numbers you will need to check the original sources cited. Some original source material is available at the American Antiquarian Society).

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.