New York 1806 Assembly, Dutchess County

Assembly (State)
New York 1806 Assembly, Dutchess County
New York
First Ballot
John Haight, John Storm, Veniah Wooley, Martin E. Winchell, Theron Rudd, Tobias L. Stoughtenburgh, Aaron Hazen, John M. Thurston, Isaiah Dibble, Barnabas Carver, John T. Schriver, Martin Hoffman, Joseph C. Field, John Patterson, Philip S. Schuyler, John Crosby, Samuel Mott, Samuel A. Barker, Archibald Campbell, George Casey, Daniel Doan, Charles Hurd, Richard Parks, Sr., Amos Belden, Silas Dutcher, Samuel Herrick, Stephen Mitchell, Ebenezer Preston, Jr., Abial Sherman, Aaron Stockholm, Thomas Carle, Lemuel Clift, Henry Dodge, Aaron Haight, Henry Haight, Isaiah Hoffman, Henry Ostrom, John D. Ostrom, Abel Peck, Joseph Phillips, Joshua Preden, Clapp Raymond, John Sayers, Jonah Smith, Jacobus Stoutenburgh, James Sweet, John Akin, Isaac Arnold, John H. Benthuysen, John Brush, Jacob Carle, William Colgrove, Jonathan Crane, Peter Crosby, Stephen Cushing, James Grant, Thomas Gutman, James Hall, John Hazen, John Higbee, Martin E. Hoffman, Robert Kidney, Abner Lee, Thomas Nelson, Thomas Newcomb, Ephraim Pain, William Pearce, Jeremiah Phillips, Jotham Post, Ebenezer Preston, Shadrach Sherman, Gerard S. Sloan, Gideon Slocum, Philip Spencer, Jr., William Taber, Jesse Thompson, James Thurston, Trop Thurston, Samuel Titus, Garret B. Van Ness, John B. Van Wyck, James Waldron, John Williams, Nehemiah Wooley
Candidates: John HaightJohn StormVeniah WooleyMartin E. WinchellTheron RuddTobias L. StoughtenburghAaron HazenJohn M. ThurstonIsaiah DibbleBarnabas CarverJohn T. SchriverMartin HoffmanJoseph C. FieldJohn PattersonPhilip S. SchuylerJohn CrosbySamuel MottSamuel A. BarkerArchibald CampbellGeorge CaseyDaniel DoanCharles HurdRichard Parks, Sr.Amos BeldenSilas DutcherSamuel HerrickStephen MitchellEbenezer Preston, Jr.Abial ShermanAaron StockholmThomas CarleLemuel CliftHenry DodgeAaron HaightHenry HaightIsaiah HoffmanHenry OstromJohn D. OstromAbel PeckJoseph PhillipsJoshua PredenClapp RaymondJohn SayersJonah SmithJacobus StoutenburghJames SweetJohn AkinIsaac ArnoldJohn H. BenthuysenJohn BrushJacob CarleWilliam ColgroveJonathan CranePeter CrosbyStephen CushingJames GrantThomas GutmanJames HallJohn HazenJohn HigbeeMartin E. HoffmanRobert KidneyAbner LeeThomas NelsonThomas NewcombEphraim PainWilliam PearceJeremiah PhillipsJotham PostEbenezer PrestonShadrach ShermanGerard S. SloanGideon SlocumPhilip Spencer, Jr.William TaberJesse ThompsonJames ThurstonTrop ThurstonSamuel TitusGarret B. Van NessJohn B. Van WyckJames WaldronJohn WilliamsNehemiah Wooley
Final Result: [1]158513311325127912651221119363060960860359946388554444443333333222222222222222211111111111111111111111111111111111111
Dutchess County158513311325127912651221119363060960860359946388554444443333333222222222222222211111111111111111111111111111111111111
Town of Amenia107105111103104104104632242--------------------1--------------------------1------------1----------
Town of Beekman[2][3][4]32474735403433745412--5-------------------------------------------------------------1------
Town of Carmel12747313028283610810292101105107-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Town of Clinton[5][6]192155160158150149145494643414144---2----------------1--22------2------------1----1-1---1---------------
Town of Fishkill[7]214186186187189186182133130131132132130-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Town of Franklin312924282923134253298---33----3-33--3------------------------------------------------------
Town of Frederick[8]67413428272323343541283734-----------------2-------222--2------1-------1--------1----------------
Town of Northeast[9]156143143150145143142141513121413-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Town of Pawlings[10][11]53526150455045243224-8--114444-3--33--11-------------111--1--11----------1--11-1-11---11---
Town of Phillips75565657575757504950515051----------------------2---------------------------------------------1--
Town of Poughkeepsie[12][13]241199203202201189193575044525037---1------------------------22------1------1----1-1-1-----1-----------1
Town of Rhinebeck114113115111117100113109109108121106------------------------------------------------------------------------
Town of Southeast5958363833361023254025242------------------1--------------------11------------------------------
Town of Stanford[14]67586060575657171818171714-------------------1-2-------------------------------------------------
Town of Washington[15]50425842434340171713121414--------------------------------2-------------1----------------1-1---1-


[1]Aaron Haight, John Hazen and Martin E. Hoffman are amagalmations of two candidates.
[2]Veniah Wooley received 2 votes as Ventha Wooley.
[3]Tobias L. Stoutenburgh received 2 votes as Tobias Stoutenbrugh.
[4]John M. Thurston received 1 vote as John M. Thurten.
[5]Isaiah Dibble received 5 votes as Josiah Dibble.
[6]Aaron Haight received 1 vote as Aron Haight.
[7]Isaiah Dibble received 71 votes as Josiah Dibble.
[8]Isaiah Dibble received 1 vote as Isaac Dibble.
[9]Tobias L. Stoutenburgh received 1 vote as Tobias Stoutenbrugh.
[10]Tobias L. Stoutenburgh received 1 vote as Tobias Stoutenbrugh.
[11]John T. Schriver received 2 votes as John C. Schriver.
[12]John T. Schriver received 1 vote as John Scriver.
[13]Isaiah Dibble received 1 vote as Josiah Dibble.
[14]Joseph C. Field received 2 votes as Joseph Field.
[15]Martin E. Winchell received 1 vote as Marter E. Winchel.


Original Election Books. Dutchess County Historian, Poughkeepsie.
The Farmer (Poughkeepsie, NY). May 13, 1806.
Political Barometer (Poughkeepsie, NY). May 13, 1806.
Poughkeepsie Journal, and Constitutional Republican (Poughkeepsie, NY). May 13, 1806.
American Citizen (New York, NY). May 16, 1806.
The Albany Register (Albany, NY). May 20, 1806.
Republican Watch-Tower (New York, NY). May 20, 1806.
Plebeian (Kingston, NY). May 23, 1806.

Page Images

handwritten notes
Phil's original notebook pages that were used to compile this election. These notes are considered a draft of the electronic version. Therefore, the numbers may not match. To verify numbers you will need to check the original sources cited. Some original source material is available at the American Antiquarian Society).

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.