South Carolina 1792 Electoral College

Electoral College (Federal)
South Carolina 1792 Electoral College
South Carolina
First Ballot
Electoral College/Elector
Charles C. Pinckney, Andrew Pickens, Robert Anderson, John Barnwell, John Chesnut, John Hunter, Edward Rutledge, John J. Pringle, William Wilson, David Ramsey, William Pegues, Jacob Read, James G. Hunt, Thomas Taylor, Henry W. DeSaussure, Peter Horry, William Thomson, John E. Calhoun, John B. Holmes, Ephraim Ramsey, Francis Marion, Patrick Calhoun, Zachariah Horskins, Arthur Simkins, John Bull, Anthony Toomer, William Bratton, Joseph Brown, Robert Ellison, John Kershaw, Isaac Harleston, Mathias Hutchinson, John Hunt, John Martin, Lewis Morris, William Washington
Electors: Charles C. Pinckney[1]Andrew Pickens[2]Robert Anderson[3]John Barnwell[4]John Chesnut[5]John Hunter[6]Edward RutledgeJohn J. PringleWilliam WilsonDavid RamseyWilliam PeguesJacob ReadJames G. HuntThomas TaylorHenry W. DeSaussurePeter HorryWilliam ThomsonJohn E. CalhounJohn B. HolmesEphraim RamseyFrancis MarionPatrick CalhounZachariah HorskinsArthur SimkinsJohn BullAnthony ToomerWilliam BrattonJoseph BrownRobert EllisonJohn KershawIsaac HarlestonMathias HutchinsonJohn HuntJohn MartinLewis MorrisWilliam Washington
Presidential Candidate:George WashingtonGeorge WashingtonGeorge WashingtonGeorge WashingtonGeorge WashingtonGeorge Washington
Final Result: [7][8]125908784807364565242414136343126231414141210106442222111111


[7]Six of the eight alloted electors were elected on the first ballot. The remaining candidates were then voted on again in a second ballot when the final two were elected.
[8]None of the electors are listed as declared for any particular candidate but all of them voted for George Washington. Seven of the eight voted for John Adams and the remaining elector voted for Aaron Burr.


Rough House Journals.

Page Images

handwritten notes
Phil's original notebook pages that were used to compile this election. These notes are considered a draft of the electronic version. Therefore, the numbers may not match. To verify numbers you will need to check the original sources cited. Some original source material is available at the American Antiquarian Society).

These election records were released on 11 January 2012. Versions numbers are assigned by state. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia are complete and are in Version 1.0. All other states are in a Beta version. For more information go to the about page.